Interview with the Product Planner

Find out more about the LSPX-P1

This large screen projector can be carried around in one hand, and was inspired by focusing on the feeling delivered by welcoming spaces.

 

TS Business Division, Consumer Experience Producer
Yusuke Murasawa

─ Tell us about the ideas and concept behind the creation of the LSPX-P1 portable ultra-short throw projector.

Murasawa: The Life Space UX concept, which includes this portable ultra-short throw projector, focuses on how our living spaces can be transformed. 

Product image of LSPX-P1.
Life style image of LSPX-P1.

For example, consider how many people determine the placement of their sofas, dining tables or chairs within their living room based on the location of their large-screen televisions. It’s almost as though their personal spaces are being decided by the TV itself. In these cases, the layout then naturally encourages people to gravitate towards the screen as they go about their daily lives, and the practicality of this idea was something that we began to question. We wanted to release families from the constraints of conventional consumer electronic devices that they now unwittingly found themselves bound to, and enable them to freely create preferred spaces in which they could watch movies or TV dramas with their families. These ideas encouraged us to focus on compact projectors. A portable projector would enable people to watch video content from anywhere in the room, so it would become possible to place furniture in any location, thus providing more lifestyle freedom.

Life style image of LSPX-P1.
Life style image of LSPX-P1.

─ What is the recommended way to use the LSPX-P1? 

Murasawa: The LSPX-P1 is connected to an external input device to enjoy TV, movies and games, just like a regular projector. It also uses an ultra-short throw lens, so it doesn’t need the projection distance usually required for conventional projectors, enabling it to be used in a variety of locations.

As a new development, we have added a ‘poster’ feature. This enables you to project images and videos anywhere you like, including in places that were not possible until now. In addition to content such as conventional TV programs or movies that can be enjoyed ‘actively’, you can also view ‘passive’ content such as videos linked to the current weather or the current time, which can be pleasing to have displayed in a particular space in the room. Various other features have also been incorporated to facilitate easy use of the ‘Poster’ feature, allowing you to set the ON/OFF time or to have the projector switch ON as you approach it, and OFF again when you move away from it. We would love for our customers to experience the viewing of this kind of ‘passive’ content.

Life style image of LSPX-P1.
Product image of LSPX-P1.

─ Was there anything that left a particular impression on you during the development process?

Murasawa: One of the features of the Life Space UX concept is that we focus not solely on the product itself, but also on how the product will fit into the environment in which it is placed. When planning the product itself, we consider these factors across a wide range of details.

For example, conventional projectors have on their main body a power button and several other buttons for focus, volume and various settings. While we obviously focused on the device’s user-friendliness for our customers, we decided to place only the power button on the body of the LSPX-P1. As for the ultra-short throw, we assumed that customers would naturally put the projector at some distance from themselves, so we decided to put together all the various operational buttons on a smartphone application, and then create an autofocus setting to enable the focus to adjust automatically if the projector is moved. We believe that we have achieved a product that combines user-friendliness with all the concepts we had hoped to convey.

One other extremely specific element was the decision to change the conventional green LED lamp, which is usually used to indicate that an electronic device has been switched on, to white. We tried the green lamp on the LSPX-P1 but it stood out too much in the various spaces. We also lowered the brightness of the white light so that customers can still identify whether the device is switched on, without it being too bright. These elements were determined after tests were conducted in a variety of locations. 

Life style image of LSPX-P1.
Diagram image of LSPX-P1.

─ The compact projector body is equipped with everything, including the battery and speakers. What did you struggle with achieving the ideal size? 

Murasawa: We really struggled with making the projector a compact size that would be portable. The portable ultra-short throw projector is approximately 8 cm wide, which is the size that we determined could be gripped easily in one hand.

The target width of a compact 8 cm was incredibly difficult to achieve. Although compact and bright, the laser light source generates a lot of heat. Furthermore, in order to maintain the harmony between the displayed video content and the room, we concealed components such as heat vents and video terminals, which are reminiscent of AV devices and electronic products, by wrapping them in perforated metal. This process reduces heat waste efficiency while suppressing operational noise to levels of 22dB or less, which is roughly equivalent to the sound of rustling foliage. 

This new projector is equipped with an autofocus feature and also boasts Sony’s smallest ever* ultra-short throw lens and the newly developed ‘SXRD’ display panel. A laser light source has been incorporated and following repeated trial and error and experimentation, a combination of optimized cooled air and ducts has enabled us to succeed in creating a new video content experience in the ideal size. 

* Current as at January 2016

Life style image of LSPX-P1.
Product image of LSPX-P1.

─ In addition to the portable ultra-short throw projector being able to project its display onto walls, the unit can be placed on its side at 90 degrees in order to project images onto tabletops or the onto the floor. 

Murasawa: The portable ultra-short throw projector can also be connected to a computer in order to project screens onto a desktop. This allows photos and digital data documentation to be displayed alongside paper documentation. We believe that the ability to display content in locations, that until now had not been possible, will lead to creative new ways in which to use these spaces. In addition, the portable ultra-short throw projector can be carried around in one hand, so you can place it in your preferred location and then watch content immediately without needing to adjust the focus. Once you find a great location, you’ll be able to display as much content as you like! We hope that lots of people will discover plenty of new ways to use some unexpected spaces.

LSPX-P1

Portable Ultra Short Throw Projector

LSPX-P1

Project your favourite movies, photos and more onto any wall or floor in the house.

訪問產品規劃員

探索 LSPX-P1

這款大畫面投影機可以單手攜帶,其設計以舒適空間帶來的感覺為靈感。

 

TS 業務部門,消費者體驗監製
Yusuke Murasawa

─ 請您告訴我們設計 LSPX-P1 可攜式超短距離投射投影機背後的想法和概念。

Murasawa:Life Space UX 概念集中於改變我們的生活空間,當中包括這款可攜式超短距離投射投影機。 

LSPX-P1 產品圖片。
LSPX-P1 生活風格圖片。

舉例來說,很多人決定起居室應該如何放置沙發、餐桌或椅子時,都要遷就大螢幕電視的位置,就像電視決定了其個人空間一樣。在這些情況下,室內佈局自然會讓人們遷就著電視螢幕的位置而生活,而我們則開始質疑這種概念是否真的為生活帶來方便。現在的家庭不經意地發現了傳統消費電子裝置為他們帶來束縛,而我們希望讓家庭脫離束縛,使他們可以自由建立喜歡的空間,與家人一起觀看電影和電視節目。這種想法促使我們集中研發小型投影機。可攜式投影機可在房間的任何地方播放影片,因此可以將家具擺放在任何位置,營造更自由的生活風格。

LSPX-P1 生活風格圖片。
LSPX-P1 生活風格圖片。

─ 您建議如何使用 LSPX-P1? 

Murasawa:LSPX-P1 可連接外部輸入裝置播放電視節目、電影和遊戲,就像一般投影機一樣。它配備超短距離投射鏡頭,無需傳統投影機通常需要的投影距離,亦可以在各種場所使用。

我們亦研發了新的「海報」功能,可將圖片和影片投射至任何地方(包括以前不可能的地方)。除了可以「主動」地觀賞傳統電視節目或電影,您亦可「被動」地觀看內容,例如是於房間內的指定空間播放關於目前天氣或時間的影片。我們亦為裝置加入其他功能,讓您使用「海報」功能時更加方便,可以設定開關時間,或按照人與裝置的遠近距離來開關投影機。我們希望顧客可以享受這種「被動」的觀看體驗。

LSPX-P1 生活風格圖片。
LSPX-P1 產品圖片。

─ 在研發期間,您對甚麼有特別深刻的印象?

Murasawa:Life Space UX 的理念有一個特點,就是我們不單專注於產品,而且也注重將產品與周圍空間合而為一。設計產品時,我們會在廣泛的細節上考慮這些因素。

例如,傳統投影機的主機身上設有電源鍵,以及對焦、音量和其他設定按鈕。我們著重於讓顧客可以方便地使用裝置,決定僅在 LSPX-P1 的機身上設置電源鍵。至於超短距離投射,我們認為顧客自然會將投影機放在離自己一定距離的地方,所以我們將所有功能按鈕設於智能手機應用程式上,並建立自動對焦設定,在移動投影機後可以自動調整對焦。我們相信此一產品可將我們希望傳達的所有概念與便利性結合。

另一項非常特別的要點,是我們決定將傳統的綠色 LED 開關指示燈改為白色。我們曾在 LSPX-P1 中試用綠色燈,但卻在不同的空間中都太過突出。我們亦調低了白色燈的亮度,無需過於光亮,亦可讓客戶識別裝置是否已開啟。我們在不同地點進行實驗後,才確定實施這些設定。 

LSPX-P1 生活風格圖片。
LSPX-P1 示意圖。

─ 小巧的投影機機身具備所有部件,包括電池和揚聲器,您在設計這部體積理想的投影機時遇到甚麼挑戰? 

Murasawa:我們設計這部小巧的可攜式投影機時實在遇到重大挑戰。這款可攜式超短距離投射投影機只有約 8 厘米寬,我們認為此一尺寸方便以單手拿穩。

纖薄的 8 厘米寬度極難實現。鐳射光源雖然小巧而明亮,但卻產生了大量熱能。此外,為了保持影片和房間之間的和諧感覺,我們將令人聯想起影音裝置和電子產品的散熱風口和視頻端子隱藏於帶孔金屬機身內。這樣做可以將廢熱效率減低,同時將運作噪音減低至 22 分貝或更低水平,僅相當於葉子沙沙作響的音量。 

這款全新投影機配備自動對焦功能,以及 Sony 品牌史上最細小* 的超短距離投射鏡頭和新研發的「SXRD」顯示面板。投影機配備鐳射光源,經過不斷的測試、修正錯誤和實驗,設計出合適的空氣冷卻系統和導管組合,讓我們能夠以理想尺寸的機身,提供全新的影片觀賞體驗。

* 截止 2016 年 1 月

LSPX-P1 生活風格圖片。
LSPX-P1 產品圖片。

─ 可攜式超短距離投射投影機除了可將畫面投射在牆壁上外,亦可 90 度側向放置,將影像投射於桌面或地上。 

Murasawa:可攜式超短距離投射投影機還可以與電腦連接,將畫面投射至桌面上,讓相片和數碼資料文件與紙本文件排列在一起,方便觀看。我們認為,在前所未有的位置顯示內容,可帶來創新的空間使用方式。此外,可攜式超短距離投射投影機可以單手攜帶,讓您可將其放置於喜歡的位置,無需調整焦點即可觀看內容。找到適合的位置後,便可盡情播放!我們希望人們會發現到多種新方法,使用一些意想不到的空間。

LSPX-P1

便攜式超短距投影機

LSPX-P1

將您喜愛的電影、相片和其他內容投射至家中任何一幅牆壁或地面。