FE 12-24mm F4 G

Product Reviews

RRP

HKD13,990.00

28

4.3 based on 28 customer reviews

15
8
4
1
0
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This is a great wide angle lens

SEL1224G 10 December 2017 by camiloramirezphotographer (USA)

It was very difficult get a nice wideangle for Sony. When I work with A mount I get the Sigma 12-24. One of the most sharpest lenses in market over the competitions. I was very happy with that lens. Now Sony launch this gem. I shot with both Sigma and this one to test them. The Image quality of this sony is superb compared to Sigma, this one have more detail (sharpness) better corners detail (Very difficult for this kind of lenses) and can't see any color aberration. it is light, well build and if you read the specs or see the pictures you can see that you will need a filter system to atach any filter to this lens. actually that is more easy for my have a filter system that get tons of filters of any diameter for all my lenses. You can play with this lens and never get tired, it is a very fun lens as great for indoors photography, architecture, landscape.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nicely made lens but AF not accurate

SEL1224G 28 October 2017 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

I was initially so pleased with this lens. A lot lighter than I expected and very well made. After using it for a while I suddenly realised it's image softness was actually an AF over focusing error! Perfect with manual or DMF. I e-mailed Sony tot see if it was a software issues, as the blogs were talking about it. I didn't receive an answer, neither ddid the retailer. I've returned it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

13

28 Customer Reviews

0

An all-round wide angle lenses for landscape ....

SEL1224G SYX 06 June 2019 by psp710 (Singapore)

The auto focus of this lenses is good and happy with it so far ...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

這才是廣角

SEL1224G 28 May 2019 by TerryCKL ()

選擇了1224 而不是1635GM 始終廣角端差太多 用12mm輕鬆拍下全景 雖然有一點變形 但後製可以修好 感覺質素跟GM沒狼差很多

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

輕巧但會甩coating

SEL1224G 13 May 2019  ()

支鏡係出色嘅,輕巧,sharpness都唔錯,對焦由於只係F/4,唔會慢得去邊,發色就正正常常。 但有一個好大好大缺點,唔可以落Filter保護前玉,結果用了一年,竟然甩左好大塊coating(有2cm x 1cm大面積),雖然只係係邊位,唔肯定對成像有無影響。送去SONY維修,要四千幾,貴!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superv wide angle lens

SEL1224G SYX 04 May 2019 by Tzido (Thailand)

I just bought FE12-24/F4 G and uses in two photo trip in Japan and USA, I fell happy if want to take wide angle shot from this lens, can respond me in awesome time with fantastic sunset.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

輕便,高質素

SEL1224G 22 April 2019  ()

比其他牌子同焦段的鏡頭輕,而且畫質好.在A7RIII上可以完全體會到這支鏡頭的解像度. 而且重量輕,減小了出外的負擔.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sharp, 輕便, 變形控制良好

SEL1224G 11 April 2019 by freepher ()

成象夠 sharp, 夠輕便, 變形控制良好, 12mm 夠 wide 12-24 + 35 or 50 一機兩鏡夠 cover 唯一缺點是貴

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

SEL1224G 11 January 2019 by Yankeedawg1 (USA)

Awesome edge to edge clarity. Outstanding landscape pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Good value for money for this kind of zoom lense.

SEL1224G 20 December 2018 by dwkl (Hong Kong)

I found this lense is smaller than other zoom lense of same range, cheaper with acceptable quality. However, it is difficult to find a filter for it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Light and works great but beware of gray market

SEL1224G 16 November 2018 by Skipper64 (USA)

I am very please with the performance of this lens and with its relatively light weight. It allows me to carry two lenses on long trips which was problematic previously. However, I received a non US version. So, beware.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Sony is the world leader in lens

SEL1224G 17 October 2018 by Trapboifuse (USA)

Had this Len for bout 2 months all i can tell you is......it is wide catch detail like no other lens . check out my gallery on Instagram @trapboifuse

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Lens

SEL1224G 13 October 2018  (United Kingdom)

Great product Most commonly used lens for my shoots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality build

SEL1224G SYX 28 September 2018  (Singapore)

I was using this lenses to shoot the lantern at night in the temple on the Mid-Autumn Festival Celebration after I bought it 2 week ago. It provide me a super wide shooting under packed condition. the result given me excellent detail. It create spectacular look on the structure when shooting from the low position.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

用了一個月多, 成像唔錯, 廣角實用

SEL1224G 08 September 2018 by Yiu Wan ()

近期影風景多 ,用了FE 12-24mm F4 G 一個月多 廣角實用 ,用A7M3 對焦快 ,成像唔錯

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice optics. Big & heavy.

SEL1224G 29 August 2018 by EddysEng (USA)

This lens is enormous and weighs a ton. Can't complain about what it does though. Takes mighty nice photos. Just be aware that it's big & heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

12

0

Quite good

SEL1224G 22 August 2018 by DarioC (United Kingdom)

It is the choice if you want the widest native lens for your sony. It has some flare, but its ok...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Add to your kit!!!

SEL1224G SYX 15 August 2018 by paulsingapore (Singapore)

Excellent lens if you are into landscapes or architecture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb wide angle lens

SEL1224G SYX 06 August 2018 by W C Tan (Singapore)

This a great lens for ultra wide angle shots. Be aware of great distortions at corners and sides of the photo when lens is tilted but this "short coming" can be used for creative effects. Great lens for travel due to compact design and light weight. Fast focusing, sharpness is good even wide open at F4 aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

The best wide angle

SEL1224G 05 May 2018 by alanealing (United Kingdom)

Purchased 2 weeks ago at a superb price and the lens hasn't been taken of my A7III since.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens for architecture landscape work

SEL1224G 07 April 2018 by Linkmodo (USA)

The ultra wide angle FE 12-24mm lens is great for architecture, real estate or landscape photography, where a faster apeature may not be enssential. The lens produces sharp/contrasty images with minimal distrotion (when corrected in post) The AF is fast and acurate and is of the silent type with no noise when motor is working. Slightly pricy but it's the one of the few (or maybe the only) native lens option that you'll have for 12mm coverage.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb lens and light too

SEL1224G 03 March 2018 by Disey74 (United Kingdom)

I'd been wanting this length of zoom for a while and coming from Canon I was used to the heavy glass of their equivalent lens so I was very nicely surprised when it arrived and it's so much lighter. It's optics are superb and I'm so pleased to have made the purchase. It's a great lens to have in your arsenal and I'm looking forward to seeing what I can produce with it on future assignments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

焦距很好用

SEL1224G 18 February 2018  ()

價錢偏高,假如平一點更好,沒有距離尺,拍片較麻煩,如果可以光圈造大少少會更好,希望加入更多特殊鏡片,造到一支零變形的超廣角鏡......

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

鏡頭表現卓悅,但製造質量可再提升。

SEL1224G 11 February 2018 by Mick1031 ()

體積細小,鏡頭銳利,色準。與A7R3配合,鏡頭與機身重量均衡。鏡身物料及製造有改進空間。整體表現滿意。

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great opitcal performance but watch out of QA

SEL1224G 10 February 2018 by Mick1031 ()

The len performance is great but have concern of the quality control as I found some "mold" in white color forming inside the barrel right next to the front element of the glass just after one day I purchased. I have to clean it up 2 times and it seems that it has gone now.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super Wide and Sharp

SEL1224G 01 February 2018 by Ben F (USA)

I've owned the lens for just over 6 months now. It is the widest I have used and really like the 12mm option. Shooting for years with a 15mm prime, I was surprised at the additional reach of the extra 3mm in focal length. I must say it is every bit as sharp and perhaps sharper than any of the wide primes I’ve used. I rarely have used the faster f/2.8 in my other wide lenses since most of my work is in landscape and architectural/interior photography, so f/4 suits me quite well. For astrophotography f/4 will force your ISO to obviously increase. I found f/11 to be somewhat of the sweet spot for landscape. The starbursts at f/22 are amazing. It is a very light yet quite rugged/solid lens which, added to the mirrorless body, is nice at the end of the day. Distortion is always the biggest issue with shooting the super wide lenses. There is certainly a touch of edge distortion & stretching as with any super wide lens. At 24mm this is nearly unnoticeable. For those new to super wide zooms, with 12mm you will have to really focus on your camera positioning and almost learn to shoot all over again. After you master it, it's hard to take the lens off your camera body. 12-24mm is very versatile for landscape work and with this sharp lens you will get some fantastic images. The biggest gripe I have heard is the fact it does not have filter threads. Although it may be frustrating to some, I purchased the adapter from NiSi since I already use the 150mm ND filters. This is fairly common with the other makers as well. The rectangular ND filters tend to me far more versatile anyway. At the end of the day, shooting with such a wide zoom lens can really make a big difference to your photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

This is a great wide angle lens

SEL1224G 10 December 2017 by camiloramirezphotographer (USA)

It was very difficult get a nice wideangle for Sony. When I work with A mount I get the Sigma 12-24. One of the most sharpest lenses in market over the competitions. I was very happy with that lens. Now Sony launch this gem. I shot with both Sigma and this one to test them. The Image quality of this sony is superb compared to Sigma, this one have more detail (sharpness) better corners detail (Very difficult for this kind of lenses) and can't see any color aberration. it is light, well build and if you read the specs or see the pictures you can see that you will need a filter system to atach any filter to this lens. actually that is more easy for my have a filter system that get tons of filters of any diameter for all my lenses. You can play with this lens and never get tired, it is a very fun lens as great for indoors photography, architecture, landscape.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Nicely made lens but AF not accurate

SEL1224G 28 October 2017 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

I was initially so pleased with this lens. A lot lighter than I expected and very well made. After using it for a while I suddenly realised it's image softness was actually an AF over focusing error! Perfect with manual or DMF. I e-mailed Sony tot see if it was a software issues, as the blogs were talking about it. I didn't receive an answer, neither ddid the retailer. I've returned it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

13

0

FANTASTIC SHARP ULTRA-WIDE ZOOM LENS!

SEL1224G 03 August 2017 by Christoph_65 (USA)

My first ultra wide zoom in this focal length. In the past I have only used ultra wide primes. The biggest drawbacks with ultra wide lenses is the tendency for flare and ghosting. This lens at all focal lengths has very little if any, even shooting into the sun. The images are so sharp corner to corner and has amazing clarity and contrast. I shoot mainly stills, but it has a wider throw for manual focus video if that's your thing. The light weight body of the lens makes it a wonderful lens to keep attached and shoot all day. It's an f/4, but with landscapes I don't shoot anything less than f/4 and usually much higher. I have had it for just a few weeks and have kept it on my body the entire time. It has less of the flaring/ghosting of any of my prime ultra-wide lenses and is much sharper. As far as any chromatic aberration, I have not seen any. My only drawback is no filter ring which unfortunately is too common in ultra wide lenses. I enjoy using ND filters for long exposure images. Hopefully an attachment will be available soon. If landscapes, architectural or astrophotography is your genre this is definitely a winning lens. I know I will get many years out of this gem!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

33

1

0

No Filter Capacity

SEL1224G 22 June 2017 by Odddave (USA)

Very surprised this lens does not accept filters. That's a show stopper for me.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

16

157