RRP

HKD880.00

92

4.6 based on 92 customer reviews

70
14
4
2
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best GIfted headset Ever!

MDRXB950AP/H 25 December 2014 by PrinceSerlith (USA)

This headset is nothing short from amazing. Bass and standard sounds are simply just beautiful music in your ears. The cushion DO provide long lasting comfort and you can just melt away from sounds and jams as the clouds past by. Standard length wiring and flat band makes this tangle free and easy to transport. I currently use this with my Xperia Z3.

28

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Comfortable headphones

MDR-XB950AP 20 April 2018 by Si1966 (United Kingdom)

Purchased these a fortnight ago and have been generally pleased with them. They are very comfortable and only started to cause slight problems after three and a half hours continuous wear (I do wear spectacles) but otherwise very comfortable. They are perhaps best suited to pop and rock music where rhythm and bass is key but generally less so with classical. They seem unfocused and muddy in the midrange and upper range and ‘distant’ somewhat here. They are labelled as ‘Extra Bass’ and they certainly deliver a bass heavy experience that will suit many, but those wanting a broader range of involvement through the mid and upper ranges are best, perhaps, to look (and listen) elsewhere.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

92 Customer Reviews

0

Ear Massaging Bass

MDR-XB950AP 02 April 2020 by Laniakeea (USA)

It's been almost 5 years since I first got this headphone and it is my daily driver to this day. Now I wanna start with pros. Firstly of course, bass. This thing, if you use it with an amplifier and a proper eq, just shakes your ears, I've never seen anything like it and whoever I let test it said it was like when you're at a club or a car with many subwoofers or something, becasue this thing really punches. It doesn't distort the mids and highs I'd say but when you get the bass to max they get kinda left behind but not much if you don't turn the volume soo high. I wish there were more mids, I think they're kinda lower than highs and lows, but other than that it's good. Another pro would be it's flat cable, it almost never gets tangled. The way that the cups push against your ears is very good, seals it so nice. I kinda wish they were on more of an angle against your ears becasue when I push them to my ears from bottom, the sound gets richer. It leaks the sound but not so much if you're not listening at full volume. The design has both pros and cons. It's a nice design overall, looks nice. The shiny aluminum looking headband kinda doesn't look all that good I think, could be matte. Now for the cons. Now like I said I have this headphone for soo long and almost every part of it fell apart at least once :D First time something happened to this headphone was when I had it for 2-3 years of something, which is it's rated lifetime anyway so I'm not gonna go that hard on it but some parts of the design are really weak, no other word for it. First thing that broke was the hinge that let the earcups turn, they both broke one after each other over 2 months period, the plastic that held it got worn out over time because of how much pressure it holds by the design of it adn it just got snapped when on my head. Now you'll see it in the pictures below anyway but I had a fix for it by tying them to the headband tightly. Now when that got fixed, the fork like thing that actually held the earcup snapped from the top, again both of them with some time in between. I fixed it with superglue and now it's fine but it breaks from time to time. Now you would say that's your poor use of the thing but I'll argue against it because what it breaking again and again shows that so much stress gets built on it and it becomes a failure pont, and therefore could be designed better in my opinion. Now another thing that broke was the plastic slider part, I had to glue them aswell because so much stress built up on screwing points along the top and it failed there. Another thing are the soft earcups themselvs, their sponge got exposed due to the glue they used got worn out overtime. I ended up stitching it. And the sponge inside it loses it's position over time and I have to adjust it over the cups with my fingers, massaging it to it's proper look. The cons of driver side. Now first of all these may be the things that happened becasue I opened up the headphone so many times but I had to because I had to fix some part of it, so the chances are it's gonna happen sometime to any headphone. Now, I don't know how it happens but sometimes the driver starts to distort the sound, especially low end so much that it becomes not listenable for me. What I do to fix it was blowing from the opening on top so the driver diaphragm got back to it's proper shape, it may be because of loud listening may be because it's lifetime is up, I don't know but it happened couple of times and it was hard to fix it. (There were so many other things that wanted to share but I thought it would not be fair putting them in this review.) The top headbands soft part, simply put, it worn out too and now it looks bad and the sticky thing they used it to hold it there is now coming out from the sides of it. The air port, unlike the bluetooth model of this headphone (XB950BT) it doesn't have a filter on top so unwanted particles can get in it I'd say quite easily like sand, dust or water. And for the last, I'll say the thing I wish it had. Volume up down button instead of a single button for control. Foldability, which upper models have but I don't think this version should be lacking that kinda options to be cheap, I tested XB900N and XB950BT and this heaphone really beats them both, both ways with and without cable attached to the other models. A little longer cable would be nice. And overall design could look way more professional and premium than how it looks now. I would love to see a remake of this model, with deeper bass, unlike what they did with upper models, to remove bass. I wish I was helpful and thank you for reading :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good investment

MDR-XB950AP 11 July 2019 by barryp (United Kingdom)

Very fine product. High quality sound and it shuts out external noise very effectively. Easy to stop,start and skip tracks from the cable toggle switch - I use an iPod, but it has similar or better features, it seems, on Android. The earpieces fold nicely flat and the size adjustment for the head fitting is reliable and easy to use. Very pleased with these cabled headphones. I found them at a slightly discounted price in Curry's / PC World. July 2019

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A MUST IF YOU ENJOY DEEP BASS!

MDR-XB950AP 03 July 2019 by Shazzza (United Kingdom)

I'm a bass player and keen on hearing the bass separation in music I listen to. Had the 500 before this upgrade and it blew me away. Definitely recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Thanos Headphones

MDR-XB950AP 04 May 2019 by Tripleslav01 (USA)

I have had these headphones for 3 years now, and these things are indestructable. I have accidentally left them in the rain for 2 days, had them fall out of my 4th floor window, once vomited all over them, worn them for months, stepped and laid on them tenth of times, freqeuntly used them as throwing ammunition to make my brother go away, took them with me every trip i was going and had them packed in a scientifically impossible way. In total the only things that came of were a few screws, and the screws arent even really necessary to use them. The sound and bass are still perfect, the headphones except the few screws completely intact with no cracks or anything, nothing ever broke off. I never write a review because i never care enough, but this time i had to give some credits to sony because these things have quality, and not just qaulity, but qaulity given by god himself.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

rich sound

MDR-XB950AP 30 March 2019 by Pensioner 555 (United Kingdom)

Pleased with my choice and I love the rich sound of the bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fit for purpose

MDR-XB950AP 03 February 2019 by Eric191 (United Kingdom)

Bought this recently to replace a set of Sony headphones I bought six years ago. They appeared to be similar and indeed they have turned out to be. But one thing that is not quite as good is that they previously had the wire into one side of the headphones only and thay was a much better design for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

MDR - XB950AP

MDR-XB950AP 31 January 2019 by River Dance (United Kingdom)

Although a litte heavier on the head than my previous headphones, the fit over my ears is excellent and the sound quality is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Worst build quality

MDR-XB950AP 30 January 2019 by Sreehari (USA)

I bought this product 9 months before.now the headphones broke while removing it off my head. I went to service center . I couldn't get the broken part replaced at least. Spending 6k INR and couldn't get it repaired is really hurting

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Very comfitable

MDR-XB950AP 17 December 2018 by Clansman (United Kingdom)

Great bass sound for this set. Works well with PC Desktop-Samsung Mobile and Amazon Fire

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice bass sound

MDR-XB950AP 15 December 2018 by Stoker (United Kingdom)

There was a tester in currys in which I tried on & plugged my phone in & the sound quality was top notch

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love them

MDR-XB950AP 29 November 2018 by MR JJ (United Kingdom)

I use them when I'm composing music on Sibelius and they haven't let me down! I also think that they look pretty cool.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice fit on head and super bass.

MDR-XB950AP 27 October 2018 by Similril (United Kingdom)

I've just bought these headphones and they sound amazing, I like the way they fit and feel. Only time well tell if the product is as good as I would like it to be.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

MDR-XB950AP 24 September 2018 by Ridd (United Kingdom)

Only just started using these but it’s a great sound and a comfortable fit over my ears. Bought two pairs for our flight to the USA so I expect we’ll be better able to comment when we get back.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

MDR-XB950AP 11 September 2018 by Goran the destroyer (United Kingdom)

Comfortable Sony Headphones with great sound are a quality product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great purchase

MDR-XB950AP 06 September 2018 by Phillipos (United Kingdom)

I’ve had these headphones now for a few weeks and am absolutely delighted with them. I usually buy ear buds, so I decided to give The XB950AP Extra Bass a go. I am glad I did. The extra bass is exceptional and the clarity is very good indeed. For me a perfect buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great sound with noise reduction

MDR-XB950AP 26 August 2018 by Alf74 (United Kingdom)

Bougth this headphones today. They got a nice fit, and deliver music with great bass. The design blocks alot of unwanted sounds. You get alot for the money spent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic base and general sound quality

MDR-XB950AP 26 July 2018 by LTolch (United Kingdom)

I saw this on amazon and wanted to treat myself to a nice set of over-ear headphones and thats what I got and more!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

headphones

MDR-XB950AP 19 July 2018 by Fred b (United Kingdom)

very good sound and comfortable to have on the head

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reliable, great headphones

MDR-XB950AP 26 June 2018 by jzez (USA)

These headphones lasted me 3 years and 6 months, and I am VERY rough with headphones (I've never had a pair of headphones last me more than a year prior to these). I've tugged on the cord a lot, I've tossed these around, I've stuffed them in my backpack; I actually slept with these on every night for a few months. Though they aren't noise-cancelling, they are excellent at reducing background noise. In my noisy house, sometimes I'll put these on and not even play any music because just having them on helps a lot. I'm not an audio expert but the sound quality seems great to me as well. These were such a great investment. I'm finally shopping for my next pair and the only reason I'm not buying these again is that my phone and Kindle both got rid of the headphone jack unfortunately so it's time to move on to wireless.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound!! Horrible Microphone.

MDR-XB950AP 19 June 2018 by compguyinslc (USA)

I try to use the headset for online meetings and while it doesn't bother me, the folks on the other end of the connection here phantom noises from across my room, loud pops, whistles, air movement, crazy echos and generally horrible sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Micro and remote doesn't work with Oneplus2 phone

MDR-XB950AP 18 June 2018 by AUREL15 (USA)

Satisfied by the quality of the sound and the insulation bring by the earings, i'm disapoited by the remote and the micro wich doesn't work on my smartphone (Oneplus2 with Android). I downloaded the apps recommended by Sony but it still unsuccessful. My previous Headphones with micro and remot worked very well on the same smartphone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Best on the market

MDR-XB950AP 02 June 2018 by Stan Boschet (USA)

The only problem I had was my wife trying to yank them off my head while I was sleeping, the swivel part broke, but I have had them for a few years. Tried some b's they were not as comfortable, these things are amazing. Now I can't find them unless it's online which I don't want to wait. So please someone tell me where to get them in the 46835 area code.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really great

MDR-XB950AP 21 April 2018 by Nathan Hu (USA)

Everything is great, however the swivels can stiffen or loosen very often.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Comfortable headphones

MDR-XB950AP 20 April 2018 by Si1966 (United Kingdom)

Purchased these a fortnight ago and have been generally pleased with them. They are very comfortable and only started to cause slight problems after three and a half hours continuous wear (I do wear spectacles) but otherwise very comfortable. They are perhaps best suited to pop and rock music where rhythm and bass is key but generally less so with classical. They seem unfocused and muddy in the midrange and upper range and ‘distant’ somewhat here. They are labelled as ‘Extra Bass’ and they certainly deliver a bass heavy experience that will suit many, but those wanting a broader range of involvement through the mid and upper ranges are best, perhaps, to look (and listen) elsewhere.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great sound but poor quality

MDR-XB950AP 10 April 2018 by ChaunRenee (USA)

Just received these for my birthday on 4/4/2018, loved the sound and comfort. Today 4/10/2018 i go to work out and when i began to put them on the right side ear cushion fell off, looks like the pin connecter that holds the swivel joint fell out. After reading additional reviews from others who have purchased this product this seems to be par for the course with Sony and their headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Good

MDR-XB950AP 31 January 2018 by L4No (Hong Kong)

I use it since a month at work to block colleagues noise and for conf calls. It great that it flattens to fit my bag. The negatives are: bit hurting ears as it's not completely over ear, noise blocking is so good I end up speaking very loudly when on the phone !!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great head phones

MDR-XB950AP 14 December 2017 by BA 1 (United Kingdom)

Bought these to replace mine that broke fantastic value brilliant sound good value.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-XB950AP 13 December 2017  (USA)

Great Headphones with nice and deep bass. Nice and crisp sound. perfect for musik and games. Cheap for the quality you get.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

One of Sony's premier headphones

MDRXB950AP 13 December 2017 by D MITCH (USA)

The headphones were given as a gift. I enjoy the sound.quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect

MDR-XB950AP 10 December 2017 by pele1950 (United Kingdom)

The wife is happy now. I can have music as loud as I like and she can’t hear a thing. Nice snug fit on the ears with an easily adjustable headband. Good sound with a mute button.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Headphones

MDR-XB950AP 27 August 2017 by Fleetwood (United Kingdom)

I purchased the product three weeks, I don't receive any noise complaints from my partner.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

BLOWN AWAY

MDRXB950AP/H 30 June 2017 by Tony Bless (USA)

I am a music lover & a music artist. These headphones are as incredible with sound as they are in style. I could not be happier with the wireless efficiency and the style is a standout in today's world of "everyone wears Beats headphones."

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Headphones - Excellent Bass

MDR-XB950AP 30 May 2017 by japanesegardens2017 (United Kingdom)

Very pleased that I bought the Product. I use them regularly at the Gym.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Not a patch on my old Sony headphones

MDR-XB950AP 17 May 2017 by Big Vern (United Kingdom)

My old Sony MDR XB500 are far better than these one's, the MDR XB950 have way too much bass, I love bass but the bass overwhelms the mid range and top end.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Bass quality is extraordinary

MDR-XB950AP 28 April 2017 by Riggerss (United Kingdom)

I bought this prodect a while back, and have been using it regularly. Constantly testing it with differant genres of music and equalizers. I love this product, its sleek black design just shows what a true beast it is. I'm interested in a lot of music which involves bass and I think these headphones suit me well!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superior Sound Quality

MDRXB950AP 10 April 2017 by Rucifer (USA)

These headphones offer superior sound quality that can be adjusted to any listening preference and manipulated to anyone's liking. I listed to lots of different types of music and am very picky about sound and do lots of running and gym workouts for hours on end and rely on great audio quality to keep my experience enjoyable. While listening to Hip Hop or R&B these offer some amazing Bass Quality and crisp treble and when im in the mood to listen to heavier styles of music (Metal, Pop Punk) the sound is VERY deep and crisp and overall these headphones RULE! Not to mention they aren't too tight but manage to stay on my head while i run with no issue and they are the most soft, comfortable over the ear headphones i have owned.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Very good

MDR-XB950AP 13 March 2017 by Puddy (United Kingdom)

Very good product,very comfortable to use .Over ears phones cut out 99.9 percent off out side noise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

There are better products in this price range

MDR-XB950AP 09 March 2017 by Mhdabbasi (United Kingdom)

No volume button on the cord just a pause/play which is not convenient. Bass is okay. No noise cancellation at all. Everyone around you will clearly hear your music specially if you're on a train during rush hours. If this is what you chose after searching among all other headphones, keep searching, you can find a better quality within this price range. I'm going to return mine as well. The main drawbacks are no volume control, no noise cancellation, you can play your music for everyone on the train, not loud enough sometimes. If none of these things are not important to you, you'll enjoy listening to your music. It's clear, comfortable and bass is good but not the best.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

Very good sound quality... I like extra bass.

MDR-XB950AP 28 February 2017 by ironmick67 (United Kingdom)

Bought these for PC gaming and music. It's perfect for both!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good sound and quality.

MDR-XB950AP 15 February 2017 by bgabi74 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and am so happy... Very good sound quality... I like extra bass... This is the best electronic music, techno music headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Headphones!

MDR-XB950AP 24 January 2017 by Liam96 (United Kingdom)

I bought these to use whilst I watch movies on my laptop, and I am so impressed with the sound quality, they give a real 'Cinema sound' experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great bass - excellent comfortable headphones.

MDR-XB950AP 16 January 2017 by Apokrema (United Kingdom)

Great product. Only thing I would add is volume up/down controls.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Just the job !

MDR-XB950AP 16 January 2017 by Lady A (United Kingdom)

Incompatible bedtime so I bought a long lead to connect to TV so as not to disturb "him upstairs"

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-XB950AP 01 January 2017  (United Kingdom)

Bought these phones two weeks ago. Very pleased with them. Superb sound boosted by the Extra Bass facility. Very comfortable and the design is good too. Good value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0