202

3.5 based on 202 customer reviews

82
38
24
14
44
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

So Far So Best!

MDR-XB950B1 12 September 2019 by basshead91 (Malaysia)

The build is solid and sturdy. The sound is phenomenal, with the built-in Electro Bass Booster works wonder to my bass-based ears (imma bass head for sure ). The "BASS EFFECT" button definitely brings the already-punchy bass to the next level. The skull-rattling bass is out of this world. In terms of durability, i hope it will last long, as the swivels scared me. Overall, 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Sound Quality. Cheap Construction.

MDR-XB950B1 17 December 2018 by kgoods (USA)

Initially, I loved these headphones. The sound was good, the bluetooth worked well and the battery lasted for multiple long flights. I took care of them because of the price (kept them in a cloth bag when not in use and never put weight on them). However, as you can see in the photo, the cheap plastic that holds the sides to the band has broken on me more than once. The first crack was a small one and I was able to fix it with glue. However, just removing these headphones from your head is enough pressure for the plastic to crack and break. Don't waste your money, you will only be let down. I love many Sony products, but this will sway me to look at other brands for my next pair.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

202 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent

MDR-XB950B1 17 June 2020 by MrMuche (United Kingdom)

I am so far very happy with the product even though this is a 2017 model it look better than the latest Sony headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

If you forget, you will regret it.

MDR-XB950B1 12 May 2020 by Le Jean De Junior (United Kingdom)

I have three other pairs of inner ear sports headphones, but these are the ones I take everywhere with me, at the gym, in a class, when I go from the treadmill to the track and the jog home. They barely move on my head during dance rehearsals. I use them to get lost in an audible whilst drinking tea and when I'm not listening to anything I can just turn the noise cancelling on, and the world goes quiet.

0

0

0

Excellent

MDR-XB950B1 09 May 2020 by Daviduk81 (United Kingdom)

Crystal clear sound, amazing bass and super comfortable to wear for long periods. Really fast to connect to my phone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Loud

mdrxb950b1-b 25 April 2020 by Pepeman (USA)

They are very loud and have great noise cancelling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Poor Design - Hinges Break Easily

MDR-XB950B1 29 March 2020  (USA)

I've enjoyed these headphones were it not for their poor quality of construction. As detailed by others here, the swivel has a plastic piece inside holding it together that is a weak point that will break with continued use (see photo).

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

2

0

Go to Reliability

mdrxb950b1-b 21 March 2020 by obxpav (USA)

After going through several sets of headphones from other well know makers of headphones...The XB950B1's represent the build quality and reliability that I have come to expect only from Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best sound to date across any brand! Buy now!!!

MDR-XB950B1 19 March 2020 by quincylbz66 (USA)

I've owned for over a year now! Best I've owned! Still over came my urge to buy Bose with these outstanding performing head phones...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing headphones until I got a new phone

MDR-XB950B1 17 March 2020 by Ayden7777 (USA)

I loved these headphones, and wore them almost everyday. They worked perfectly until I got a new phone. Ever since then they will not connect to my iPhone 11. Is there anyway I could get them to connect or get a new pair?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Started out great, now not so much

MDR-XB950B1 14 March 2020 by NiXHeX (USA)

I bought these about 3 months ago only to have the driver's blow about three weeks in so Amazon sent me a replacement pair and I've had them for about 6 weeks and the have lost around half of the volume and 90% of the bass, which is why I bought them in the first place.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Help me solve this mistery, please

MDR-XB950B1 08 March 2020 by FeelsPowerOff (USA)

No matter the battery state, the number of resets and factory resets the headphones automatically power them self on in a random moment. 5 minutes later they power them self off… If manually powered off they just turn them self on after a random period of time. No other active Bluetooth or NFC device around them. Why is that happening and how can I prevent it? Otherwise not a bad set. I am using them for more than a year with a Walkman and Hi-Res files. The sound is good but the extra bass can be a bit more extra in some cases.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent choice

MDR-XB950B1 02 March 2020 by afabrikant (USA)

Bought it a year ago and the only thing I really missing is external microphone, since the built-in take all the surrounding noice. Love that rich bassy sound. Excellent for big head (58-62).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovee It

MDR-XB950B1 28 February 2020 by Skye ansel (Malaysia)

I used to own the MDR-XB650 and it sound great with long lasting battery life but few days ago it wont charge anymore. And this headphone always my 2nd choice. No regrets on buying it totally worth. Sound is superb and identical to the N1 except with no noise concelation. You should get this

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-XB950B1 18 February 2020 by Shaun4248 (United Kingdom)

Ive been using these for a year now and love them. Only reason i gave a four was because the ear cups started to rip a month back and had to replace them. overall, would recommend them to anyone. Love them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones

mdrxb950b1-b 15 February 2020 by Raven5970 (USA)

I got a pair in 2017 as a gift. I truly fell in love with the ease, comfort and sound of these headphones. I always kept them in their original box and only used them when we traveled or while at my computer. Sadly, about a month ago, the plastic on the ear broke on one side of the harness. I was heart broke. I was disappointed in that this plastic simply broke. I then learned it would cost the same money to fix them as my wife paid when they were new. I love these so much I relented and bought a new pair. This time I purchased a 3 year warranty. I have to say, these headphones were awesome. I just wish they harness was made to be more sturdy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound; terrible craftsmanship

MDR-XB950B1 10 February 2020 by Sadell (USA)

I purchased 2 pair (at different times) of the MDR-XB950B1 earphones. The first set broke. The earphone disengaged from the headset. I purchased another pair and the same thing happened. I am writing this review with the hope that Sony will have good customer service and offer me a pair pro bono.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awsome

MDR-XB950B1 05 February 2020 by Ashboi (USA)

Got it a week ago! Love it’s amazing quality and it adjusts so fabulously and flexibility is amazing. Love it.... :):):):$

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

break too easily

MDR-XB950B1 01 February 2020 by dprerost (USA)

I agree with some ratings about the hinges breaking. A lot of money for these and they dont last. My hinge also broke. I have to use them as i have hearing loss and would have to turn the tv too loud to be able to hear. Wish they could be fixed. Cant afford to be buying these every two years.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good but...

MDR-XB950B1 08 January 2020 by dewdew (USA)

this is a great headphone with long battery life and great bass; however, the hinge tends to break easily and there is no replacement parts for it which is a letdown.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good Head Phones but...

MDR-XB950B1 02 January 2020 by OscarA98 (USA)

I bought these a few months ago and they were great. I used them to go to the Gym, and at school when in the library. But one day a little plastic piece that acts sort of like a hinge broke. They still seem to work but I want really use them. Is there anything I could do? Do they come with a Warranty?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awful design, terrible sound

MDR-XB950B1 25 December 2019 by Notimpressed4242 (USA)

Low end, low shelf, thoughtless design that you pay a premium for. The user experience was not considered in the making of this product. The buttons are anything but intuitive. It is difficult to connect to Bluetooth. There's a blue flashing LED light that makes wearing them in the dark out of the question. The sound quality is subpar. Yeah there's lots of vibration in replacement of bass response, but the speakers sound like a non-profane word for terrible. I wouldn't give these headphones away, and I won't give Sony another $300 chance.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

0

Good for listening in long lengths at a time

MDR-XB950B1 19 December 2019 by ACstokes (USA)

I have had these for about a year now and I love them. They let you customize echo and base effects which is great for listening to music but really shines when playing computer games at long lengths at a time. When playing certain games, explosions, gunshots, or any action like collapsing buildings and large engines in vehicles have booming bass to them which sound great and makes games much more immersive. This statement can also apply to movies as well. Two down sides is that this specific model of headphones are very prone to breaking because of the bulkiness and that it is made mostly of plastic, even the pivot joints are made of plastic and those can break very easily as I can speak from experience. So be careful with them and they will serve you for a long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesome Headphones but Cheap Quality of the Plasti

MDR-XB950B1 18 December 2019 by Christopher E (USA)

I've had these headphones for about 3 years now but about 6 months ago, but both of the plastic pieces on at each ear cup broke right where it Y's off from the swivel mechanism to connect to the ear cup. These headphones have great sound quality and are very comfortable to wear. The battery life is amazing (mine last about 16 hours). I would love to buy another pair but am very hesitant due to the poor quality of the plastic. I dont' want to spend ~$150 for another pair only to last me 2 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Five years later & still going strong!

MDR-XB950B1 16 December 2019 by RickyTicky (USA)

I first purchased these back in 2014 and hasn't let me down once! They still work exactly how I got them brand new 5 years ago! I bought these with good budget and sound in mind as I hate buying audio products that don't always work as advertised. These on the other hand, the best purchase I've made in headphones in years! I'm active duty and have taken these on three deployments (Middle East, Africa and Asia) so far and they still handled the abuse of being tossed around in bags since we can be rough on our gear. They are a little bulky when doing physical activities like running or lifting weights in the gym but I still managed. I'm definitely going to get another 5 years out of these the way they've been treating me. Hopefully they'll last even longer. Definitely still a good buy at the end of 2019 if you can still find these floating around in stores. You won't be disappointed and I can promise you that. Sony, you've done well on these!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Suck! Don't bother

MDR-XB950B1 09 December 2019 by Craig21 (USA)

I've had these for less than a year.. i can't get them to charge. i cant get them to reset.. don't waste your money on these headphones..

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Good sound, poor build quality

MDR-XB950B1 08 December 2019 by Johnnydave2000 (USA)

I got these as a Christmas gift and used them daily for the better part of the year when one of the plastic arms holding the speaker cups broke. I was able to glue it back together and then it broke a few days later in two other places. They do, however have an interface that I vastly prefer to any other headphones I've tried recently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound and Comfort...Design needs work

MDR-XB950B1 06 December 2019 by Dezman (USA)

I got these headphones as a birthday gift. I have had them for about a year now. 100% pleased with the sound quality. I love headphones that give me the full sound spectrum, especially bass. These headphones meet every expectation on sound, comfort, and battery life. The are comfortable enough to sleep in, and the battery truly lasts for 20+ hours. And the charge time is only about an hour or two for full charge. The down side...design. I noticed a crack near the swivel of the left couple a few months into using them. About three months ago, the swivel broke. I found that this was common. Several people have posted how to fix videos on YouTube. I hate to get rid of them because the sound still works, but I can’t use them for my workouts anymore. Overall I am disappointed. $200 should be worth higher quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Headphones

MDR-XB950B1 16 November 2019 by Dames (United Kingdom)

Had them nearly a year now think I’m gonna get the in ear ones now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love these things man!

MDR-XB950B1 12 November 2019 by Steezin (USA)

These head phones are awesome. I bought them from an department store two months ago or so. I wanted to reach out and ask is there an warranty that comes with these ? The headphone its self and the head rest have disconnected and are hanging by the wire that connects them. Any advice would be awesome. Thank You!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Sound

MDR-XB950B1 10 November 2019  (USA)

This was given to me for Christmas in 2017 and one of the best gifts I’ve ever received. pros: very long battery life, great sound (for everyday and professional use), easy to use, very comfortable cons: kind of heavy, band started to stretch after a year bc of constant use, padding around ears started to shred/flake (I don’t recommend using them while sweating/working out) Overall I haven’t had any problems with it and it’s more durable than other people have been saying. I’d probably have it for much longer than just 2 years if I hadn’t lost it recently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

BT Transmitter Quit working

MDR-XB950B1 02 November 2019 by Sony user11 (USA)

Something happened to the Bluetooth transmitting device. It keeps blinking when charged and does not work. I have to let it blink until it stops having a charge. Need a new one. Only lasted a few months.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Truly A Great Awesome Product! ♥️

MDR-XB950B1 01 November 2019 by narays19 (Malaysia)

Been using this headphone for nearly 2 years now. Sound quality is so great especially came tuned with Extra Bass that gives the music that you are listening to an extra punch of bass and much more awesome effect while watching music videos. The Headphone's software App lets you to adjust the levels of Bass on the level of 1 - 10 & the type of Music Style you want such as Arena, Club, Outdoor Stage & to mention a few other styles. You can choose them according to your preferences when playing music and even while watching youtube videos. Truly a great awesome headphone. A Definite Recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

the stopped working

MDR-XB950B1 20 October 2019 by rokolio (USA)

I got them a few months ago and after like 20 days they stopped getting charged I knew something was wrong as there was no light while they were connected and they eventually ran out of charge to never come on again, there is no info online and pushing Bass + Power does nothing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

DO NOT BUY!

MDR-XB950B1 04 October 2019 by JBEBE (United Kingdom)

I have barely used them and the head band connecting to the ear part has snapped on one side. They are still in warranty but its going to cost £100 to get them fixed. Thats more than a new pair!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

1

0

Really Good Headphones, Build Quality ehhh

MDR-XB950B1 01 October 2019 by SimpleGuy45 (USA)

these headphones have lasted me since November 2017 and still continue to work. The only problems i have is the headphones slowly wear and tear, the biggest is the headphones rotational area, the parts start to chip and crack or the rotational piece breaks all together and hangs. This happen with my last on ear bass boosted Sonys. If you want these headphones, I recommend them, if parts break or crack, they are CHEAP to replace, you can buy parts on ebay and amazon or third party websites. If you are a person that bangs around their headphones a lot, i don’t recommend them for you. If you just sit in class or are going on car rides etc, i would recommend. They do leak sound a good amount and the ear-cups are so comfortable they lasted me on a 15 hour flight to Australia. But in all great headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

So Far So Best!

MDRXB950B1BCE 27 September 2019 by basshead91 (Malaysia)

Best budget bass headphone ever! Almost similar to the N1 version (just without Noise Cancelling and cannot be folded)... Sound quality is the same, and available at a much lower price than N1.. so better go for B1...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

So Far So Best!

MDR-XB950B1 12 September 2019 by basshead91 (Malaysia)

The build is solid and sturdy. The sound is phenomenal, with the built-in Electro Bass Booster works wonder to my bass-based ears (imma bass head for sure ). The "BASS EFFECT" button definitely brings the already-punchy bass to the next level. The skull-rattling bass is out of this world. In terms of durability, i hope it will last long, as the swivels scared me. Overall, 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Broke in 2 months

MDR-XB950B1 09 September 2019  (USA)

These things are horrible. I paid $150 to listen to music for two months. I won't buy from sony again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great sound poor structure

MDR-XB950B1 06 September 2019 by NickA1039582 (USA)

Was very excited about these headphones and the sound quality was better than anything I’d previously had but the connector from the overhead band to the actual earphones part snaps almost immediately after purchasing. Unfortunately these were very expensive, hopefully the newer Sony headphones fix the poor design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great sound bad design!

MDR-XB950B1 19 August 2019 by riamia77 (USA)

We bought these for my son in May for his birthday, he was afraid to use them as every day ear phones bc they are so expensive. I wanted to show him not to worry, they weren't cheap and SONY, (who make very durable products) they can handle that type of use. So I started using them myself. But a few days later...they broke! Both sides! At the same time in the same spots! Now that I read the reviews I'm not surprised. Everyone seems to have the same issue. Hopefully SONY you guys fix this issue. These earphones are way too expensive for them to snap that easy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Just make sure to get a warrenty

MDR-XB950B1 17 August 2019 by Logan M (USA)

I got mine from Best Buy and all I have to say is while it did last a good amount of use for almost a year, they used plastic hinges to allow full turning of the ear pieces. These are easily breakable saddly. They did last 8 months, and for those 8 months they did provide good sound quality (Obviously not the best due to 5.1 speaksers), the microphone quality was a hit or miss for me. The real thing about these are going to be the bass boosting effect, that works amazing about these, and their battery life will at least stay up for a day or two of fairly consistant use. The only other thing I do have to gripe about is going to be the choice in audio cables. 3.5mm isnt bad, but they require you to use their 3.5mm audio cables. I would prefer to be able to get extensions or something when it does come to this, but all others that have much more solid construction on the ends and connectors will not fit into the headphones deep enough to have both ears going, allowing only one ear use if you do use a different audio cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great product

MDR-XB950B1 25 July 2019 by Jord19 (United Kingdom)

Happy with the headphones, great bass and good sound isolation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features but broke in less than a year

mdrxb950b1-b 21 July 2019 by Happy756 (USA)

Worked great but the whole earpiece broke off at the pivot point

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Not good

MDR-XB950B1 14 July 2019 by IsaacBeast (USA)

Overall this product is not sturdy for me I've had two of these headphones and I both had to get them replaced by Sony and it takes so long for them to ship back through headphones is happened to me two times like I said and it's kind of annoying if you get what I mean guys so if you guys are looking to buy those you're looking into reviews that don't buy them that's just me there a good price they have good drivers if you know what that is a good sound everything is good on them it's just that the build quality is not that good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Good Sound Quality, Durability/Design lacking

MDR-XB950B1 10 July 2019 by JonathanT (USA)

I had these headphones for about a year, and the sound of them was great. However, they broke just like in other people's reviews, by the ear cup, hanging by the wire The look of ear cups were a little too big for my taste, and they aren't comfortable for long periods of time. However, they're still comfortable for shorter periods of time. Overall a good product, just lacking in some fields.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound- Poor Quality Product

MDR-XB950B1 08 July 2019 by thestanley610 (USA)

I bought 2 pairs of these headphones for my daughters for Christmas. Both are very responsible and treat their electronics with extreme care. After only a few months, the earpiece on one pair has broken off and only the wire remains. Very disappointed since they were quite expensive.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good sound but bad construction

MDR-XB950B1 17 June 2019 by woosamseo (USA)

I bought this for my son less than three months ago as a gift and the earpiece has broken off and is only hanging by a wire. He treats this product very well because the sound quality and the price. He barely brings it places and does not even place them in bags in fear of possibly crushing them. Other than the sound being very good, he has said that it felt loose when he was putting them on and then they suddenly broke.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Disappointing

MDR-XB950B1 12 June 2019 by H333 (United Kingdom)

Found the ear pieces far too large and bulky for my use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awful Design

MDR-XB950B1 10 June 2019 by cbelden (USA)

Bought these for my son - he not only is a huge music fan but composes and uses software to produce music. We thought when the first pair broke it was a defect - guess what no defect - the second pair did the same thing in less time. My son does not abuse these since he loves the sound - he is very careful with them and the same thing still happened.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2