139

4.2 based on 139 customer reviews

73
43
12
1
10
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

right size for my sony 43" tv

HT-X8500 23 September 2019 by josh 177 (United Kingdom)

Tidy design and well built. Sounds ok, vertical surround average. Easy to connect and set up but sadly only had it three weeks when power transformer blew up had to take it back for refund this may be a one off !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

139 Customer Reviews

0

A Feature-rich by physically constrained sound box

HT-X8500//M SP1 25 October 2020  (Malaysia)

Sony HT-X8500 is feature rich cramped into a single bar without upward firing speakers nor a separate sub-woofer. So, while it has a bit of everything (almost) & the demo sound (on each bar) is impressive, the sound stage is limited as such and I have not been able to experience the same quality of sound effects as the demo when using the bar for various apps - 4K HD with ATMOS demos on YouTube to music via Bluetooth from smart phone (Sound quality not as good as I get on original Huawei ear phone). But it meets my requirement for a compact bar for a small room.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very disappointed!

HT-X8500 20 October 2020 by NeilS9 (United Kingdom)

So, so disappointed with the HT-X8500 – I expected so much better from a Sony product. I’ve never bought a sound bar before so I was swayed by reading some excellent reviews about this one …but after buying it I found it hard to believe the reviews were about the same thing I’d bought. Physically the HT-X8500 looks and feels good, but the overall sound quality is really poor – there is little clarity and no dynamic range to speak of …my Samsung TV speakers sound better, so for me this was a complete waste of money.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Watching movie is never the same again!

HT-X8500//M SP1 20 October 2020 by joeylee (Singapore)

I bought the X8500 about a month ago and it is a must have when I watch a movie or listen to music. The effect is good enough for my living room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

HT-X8500 11 October 2020 by kakui ()

外型ok,音質ok, 價錢不算太貴。很適合我用~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good listening

HT-X8500 06 October 2020 by Tallone16 (United Kingdom)

Excellent from switching it on. The sound is amazing

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

WOW

HT-X8500 06 October 2020 by Stan_of_Saxons (United Kingdom)

What a unit... 1st class. It's better than the Sky Sound box I have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

物非所值

HT-X8500 29 September 2020 by messis ()

物非所值,沒有顯示器,只能睇機面上的幾粒LED燈和自己耳朵斷估開左咩音效................

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

The best Atmos per pound

HT-X8500 25 September 2020 by Sean_W (United Kingdom)

Having finally bought a new TV after 12 years, I was looking to get an eARC HDMI compatible soundbar with Dolby Atmos for virtual surround sound straight through the TV from the upcoming PS5 / XBox Series X releases. Getting a suitable TV was expensive, so I was relatively low on budget and ended up finding this. For the price you wont find another futureproofed soundbar with more features. The only drawback is that eARC overrides the passthrough of sound from an external device to the soundbar, so one device I had using digital optical output to completely bypass the TV (and potentially any lag) just always automatically goes back through the eARC HDMI instead

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

My first soundbar. Easy setup

HT-X8500//M SP1 19 September 2020  (Singapore)

Easy setup as I have it working with my SONY Bravia 43 inch TV. On and off sequences are accurate and the sound is good. It tries to give good sound projection.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the sound, love the bass undertones.

HT-X8500 13 September 2020 by Ste701 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a high quality soundbar and this is just the ticket. Lovely bass sound, different sound features depending on what you are viewing or listening to

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Difficult to setup

HT-X8500 10 September 2020 by Mal0122 (United Kingdom)

Difficult to setup but once it was working with my 3 year old 4K UHD curved Samsung TV, after buying a high speed hdmi lead and starting the setup from scratch, it works fine. The sound quality is adequate but disappointed with Dolby Atmos as it is not as I thought it would be. I nearly returned the soundbar but decided to see how it goes.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

So far - very happy

HT-X8500 10 September 2020 by Bravie (United Kingdom)

We bought this as a partner to our Sony Bravia KD43XH8196 which we bought two weeks ago and so far we are very pleased with it, although I'm still learning how to use it properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Product.

HT-X8500 31 August 2020 by Cuke (United Kingdom)

Purchased this product to use with my smart TV and I and I am quite impressed with the sound and features. No issues with lip sync at all and the soundbar works well with the tv's builtin apps. I would be happier if there was a little more bass and if I could add a separate bass speaker I would but unfortunately I cannot do this. Over-all though the soundbar is good value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

音效不錯

HT-X8500 31 August 2020 by marco127 ()

喇叭機體本身若有顯示營幕會更好,用家會較方便了解狀況及音量高低,能獲得更多訊息,較用燈號代表更易理解。

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great quality

HT-X8500 27 August 2020 by andy d to bad (United Kingdom)

i am happy i bought this item and iam very happy with quality of the item

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Problem not resolved

HT-X8500//M SP1 26 August 2020 by TBTSG (Singapore)

I am using the HT-X8500 with a Sony KD55X8000G TV. The soundbar was functioning well in the first week, able to play 5.1 movie from Netflix. Was enjoying the product and like it. But a week later, not able to stream Netflix 5.1. Change the movie format to original, ie. not 5.1, not able to play the movie at all. Reported the problem to Sony, been close to 2 weeks, no respond. A pleasant experience turn to a bad one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not as good as i expected

HT-X8500//M SP1 22 August 2020 by NoNeednicknamelor (Malaysia)

My TV speaker seems better then soundbar with certain shows

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound effects

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 August 2020 by Koh HP (Singapore)

Realistic cinema sound effects. It's enjoyable to watch movies.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

功能及聲音都很好

HT-X8500 07 August 2020 by Wong0 ()

以單一soundbar又沒有獨立重低音都可以做到很好的環場立體聲及有杜比ATMOS可以用很少的地方安裝,外型美觀

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Soundbar but

HT-X8500 05 August 2020  (United Kingdom)

the main reason to buy this was to compliment my new tv and upgrade from an old sound system. The sound is great and makes tv programmes better, so i would recommend it for that. The down side is that it doesn't come with an onscreen display. this means that you never really know what setting you are on or what the setting was the last time it was used. This leaves to a lot of guess work and pushing of buttons. I probably would have bought something else had i know this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Great Sounds

HT-X8500 04 August 2020 by Yorkiecherry (United Kingdom)

Sounds are brilliant but disappointed with lack of onscreen display.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Always best product in the market

HT-X8500 04 August 2020 by Rix L ()

Good performance, design and value. Very easy to use. Plug and play. So far very few products in the market with this build in sub woofer and with all the Digital codecs. Nice looking and best value for money!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A compact sound machine

HT-X8500//M SP1 01 August 2020 by LYK1 (Singapore)

Has been using for for past 1 month. No major complaints. But need to switch the sound mood for watching different types of programs for better listening. It is really good when playing Atmos programs.

0

0

0

Not impressed.

HT-X8500 28 July 2020 by Swstn (United Kingdom)

I bought this with high expectations. I found the background sounds completely over powered the voices making it virtually impossible to follow storylines.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Best sound bar ever bought

HT-X8500//M SP1 25 July 2020 by Adrian Loo (Malaysia)

Finally I found a sound bar that is worth buying & it doesn’t hurt my wallet too ☺️. Sony is always the best in sound technology to me.

0

0

0

Easy Setup

HTX8500 24 July 2020 by LilBear11963 (USA)

I bought this a week ago. 1st took time to set it up today. Took me about 20 min. by myself and I'm picky about cords not being tangled or showing. The quick setup sheet was a big help. I'm also using a Sony 4K tv with this. I'm very happy with this sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound bar with superb sound .

HT-X8500//M SP1 22 July 2020 by Gmie (Malaysia)

Very fast delivery , nice packaging and handling , all the instructions to use clearly explain and the sound was superb.

0

0

0

Design is good but not happy with sound

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 July 2020 by praswin (Singapore)

I don't recommend for people who like to experience better sound. It is just average like entry level sound bar.

0

1

0

Good product but not a replacement of home theatre

HT-X8500//M SP1 06 July 2020  (Singapore)

a makeshift solution. Sound volume should be higher.

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 27 June 2020 by Fabby 48 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar a few weeks ago, the sound is very good, loud and crisp especially connected with a 4k blu ray player. But the functionality is not impressive with no display on tv, the flashing lights on the top of the bar are confusing at best and they should have been on the front to be easily seen while seating down. So to summarise, this bar produces great sound, and I'm happy with it, but the lack of tv display is a real let down

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Beyond expectations

HT-X8500 22 June 2020 by Babs16 (United Kingdom)

Sound when playing films is out of this world. Could be sitting in cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Compliments the TV

HT-X8500 10 June 2020 by Del5 (United Kingdom)

This soundbar in a word is ”Billiant” and ands to the experience when watching various types of programmes from movies to sport.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

The best soundbar

HT-X8500//M SP1 08 June 2020 by Daus Dzil (Malaysia)

Good range of sound... with Dolby Atmos function, watching movie feel like cinema at home.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The All in One X85 Soudbar Extraordinaire

HT-X8500//M SP1 06 June 2020  (Malaysia)

I was looking forward to this soundbar. It is a great pair with the X85G series TV and just nice for those who do not want a heavy sub-woofer. Dolby Atmos sounds great with DTS X and other features supported. This is a very simple plug and play soundbar that deserves a mention.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound but lack of inputs.

HT-X8500 05 June 2020  (United Kingdom)

So what can I say about the htx-8500. Well it's a lovely looking bar, nice rounded edges and a very simple but sleek design. One earc/arc output and one hdmi 2.0 input to connect a single device to. I would have liked one or two more inputs but I can live with only one. The input is 4K and hdr pass through, I have gotten hdr and hdr 10+ but it will not pass through dolby vision. The output handles all of the major codecs including dolby atmos. Now to the sound, I'm a little of a Sony fan boy so perhaps a little bias, but the sound quality on this is really breathtaking. You can get a good sense of height for atmos and it really shines through. I have no hesitation in reccomending this at all. Oh and if Sony wanna send me anything to review please feel free lol.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great quality sound

HT-X8500 30 May 2020 by saintybalboa (United Kingdom)

This adds to the atmosphere when watching sporting events. Not just because of the extra volume, but the quality of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

非常適合香港的好產品,不過可以做得更好

HT-X8500 23 May 2020 by Seth T ()

使用約三星期,整體非常滿意,在沒有外置subwoofer的情況下低頻仍然足夠,非常適合沒有空間放置subwoofer的環境,如果支援Atoms時表現更為良好 美中不足Vertical S模式下電影中男聲的表現會奇怪,會比普通模式更難聽清楚對話 另外設置操作亦較為複雜 整體來說有進步空間,但令人滿意

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent first step into Dolby Atmos

HT-X8500 21 May 2020 by Gdawson (United Kingdom)

I have had this soundbar for a week now and on the whole I am very impressed . Unfortunately Earc is very buggy and I am forever having to switch the tv off then on to get any sound from the soundbar when switching to Netflix via the onboard app?! I had bought new high speed Hdmi cables and foolishly thought buying a Sony soundbar with a Sony tv would make the Earc process Seemless ?. How wrong I was !!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

5

0

Great

HT-X8500//M SP1 09 May 2020 by David5231 (Singapore)

I buy this few week ago the sound is great I like it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Neat one piece sound bar built in subwoofer

HT-X8500 07 May 2020 by Discerning (United Kingdom)

Quickly elevates the TV watching to an amazing immersive experience Pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great sound and easy setup

HTX8500 29 April 2020 by buckhunter67 (USA)

Bought this after reviewing several soundbars, I liked the fact that it has a built in subwoofer, so nothing else to clutter up a room. The easiest set up I ever had, plugged into an LG 4k television through the ARC, and I had to do nothing after that. It does have great sound and the bass, though limited, is sufficient to fill my tv room. Now I need to get Netflix again and watch some Dolby Vision and Atmos. Should be awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

功能同外形都好出色。

HT-X8500 29 April 2020 by joe328844 ()

我一个月前买咗索尼电视同音响用落感觉喇叭都好好声电视画质都很好比起我十年前买的索尼电视进步咗好多喜出望外。

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product

HT-X8500 28 April 2020 by Carol1teach (United Kingdom)

Bought to go with new Sony tv. Very impressed with Sony as usual.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

Good sound quality

HT-X8500 21 April 2020 by Deano 7762 (United Kingdom)

Very good soundbar good features. Would recommend this soundbar

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Soundbar HT-8500

HT-X8500 21 April 2020 by Gilliarno (United Kingdom)

Brilliant sound from this Sony HT-8500 it looks smart as well easy to set up good value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Best TV Sound Bar Partner

HT-X8500 20 April 2020 by windflyer ()

As the sound bar support the Atmos sound system for the movies, and I do not need to buy the integrated Amp, it support the 4K movie and sound from the bluray player directly. It saves money and space, just place it in front of the TV. Especially without additional subwoofer speaker, it also provide wide range vibration and you can feel it. It is bluetooth support which can also connected with mobile for playing high quality music. It is also good for live concert music, it can play with live and surround environment, it is value for money at this price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0