56

4.2 based on 56 customer reviews

29
15
8
3
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by Christopher44 (USA)

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

The sound keeps cutting out in random intervals.

HTZ9F 10 July 2018 by sal1981 (USA)

I bought this less then a month ago and the sound keeps cutting out on me randomly. I wish some would get a hold of me to fix this. I don't know who to contact. Other then that it is a great product when it is working. I would like to give it more stars if this issue could be fixed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

56 Customer Reviews

0

Subwoofer disconnect intermittently

HT-Z9F//M SP1 22 March 2019 by EricSim (Singapore)

Sound is good. But sometimes the subwoofer will disconnect intermittently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

HT-Z9F

HT-Z9F//M SP1 25 February 2019 by EC1325 (Singapore)

I bought this recently and was not satisfied with the Atmos performance. I can't feel the effect bouncing off my ceiling towards me. The rest of the features are ok but steep for the price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good sound

HT-Z9F//M SP1 24 February 2019 by Chris1982 (Singapore)

It is a significant upgrade compared to the built-in speakers in the Sony TV. Sometimes the eARC needs to be reset to work properly. Besides that everything works perfect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sync Problems

HTZ9F 22 February 2019 by Bill52 (USA)

Bought xbr55x900f TV and Sony ht-z9f sound bar. The HDMI ARC function between TV and sound bar will not work. I have spent hours on this nothing works! Finally the sales person I bought the TV and sound bar from at Best Buy in Naples, Florida went way beyond resonable expectations and came to my house and put together a work around. The sound bar and TV now work together but still are not properly synced so that sound bar can be controlled by the TV remote. The amount of time I have spent on this is ridiculous. Sony and Best Buy should refund my money and take these defective products back. I purchased a 5 year service contract at Best Buy but they say this isn't covered. Defective products are not covered by Sony or Best Buy? Then what is covered?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

V good

HT-Z9F//M SP1 22 February 2019 by Chuac10 (Singapore)

Excellent no regrets good good good like in cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

方便易用,音響效果比預期中高

HT-Z9F 20 February 2019 by tonny3192000 ()

光纖hdmi不能用在ARC接口,會有斷音問題,如果可以加多2隻中後置,效果可能更加好. -------------

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and features

HT-Z9F//M SP1 20 February 2019 by Chucky71 (Singapore)

I bought this a month ago and have been using it daily as the main speaker for my TV. Great bass sound and effect but sometimes need to turn up the volume for voice sound because volume was reduced due to big bass sound. Wish it has a radio function too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

低音強勁,但對白細聲,如果將聲音效大,到左爆炸場景出現口就會變得極之嚇人,急忙收細聲

HT-Z9F 16 February 2019  ()

低音強勁,但對白細聲,如果將聲音效大,到左爆炸場景出現口就會變得極之嚇人,急忙收細聲,比人投訴!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Surprisingly easy to install and work CORRECTLY

HTZ9F 30 January 2019 by Retired Maggot (USA)

We bought the HT=Z9F today after reading a number of reviews. We installed it. We prefer HDMI over Bluetooth as we have enough electrical waves in our house so we had to get an optical digital cable and an additional HDMI Cable, but it all works great. We checked it on regular TV, Blue Ray, Apple TV (News and a movie) and so far it works perfectly. We are not "audiophiles" but we like the improvement. Most of all, it was near painless to hook up and get working CORRECTLY with our Sony KDL-52V5100 TV and Sony Blue Ray UBP8X00! We paid $649 for it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Perfect For Some, Great for Most, Headache for Few

HTZ9F 17 January 2019 by CombatKeeler (USA)

I bought this Soundbar to compliment our z9f tv and I must admit, I was pretty frustrated with it at first. The sound from the soundbar kept cutting out and even the bass from the subwoofer would cut out at times. I informed Sony of these issues and about a month and a half later they sent me a replacement. This was only after a Sony represtative and I exhausted every possible fix for the soundbar. Right now it works like a charm and is perfect for the apartment my wife and I live in. I should note that it’s possible the early issues could have been due to the hdmi cables used to connect my devices. I bought the belkin ultra fast speed hdmi around the same time I received my second soundbar so I could enjoy the Dolby vision/atmos media I was trying to watch before. As of today (2 months after arrival of replacement soundbar) I am super happy with this product. The reason I didn’t give 5 stars is because of the early frustrations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing Sound Bar

HTZ9F 14 January 2019 by Chevyman (USA)

I purchased this sound bar about a month ago. The sound is amazing. Install was a breeze. I only have one issue. I purchased the wireless rear speakers (SAZ9R) with the sound bar. Every once and awhile the sub and rear speakers cut out. This is very discouraging specially in the middle of watching a movie. I reached out to Sony and they helped me do a reset. It helped out temporally and then started doing it again. It sucks that I have to turn unit off and sometimes unplug for it to work correctly. Besides this issue the sound bar is awesome. I just hope that Sony may come up with a solution to fix the connection error with an update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

音色不錯,只是有點貴

HT-Z9F 11 January 2019 by DIKA5 ()

一開機連上網絡已有一次更新。 每次開電視均會自動開機連接,非常方便。 連上NAS時偶有不穩,音响音量突然變大,會嚇一跳。 看電影效果不錯,人聲亦顯得立體,但看演唱會卻沒太大臨場感。

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

音色出色低音震撼

HT-Z9F 09 January 2019  ()

睇4k電影聲音震撼,新的Vertical Surround Engine 垂直環繞引擎技術效果很好,睇演唱會的現場感也好

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

功能一般

HT-Z9F 04 January 2019 by Makc08 ()

觀看電視時音量比較細,轉換至其他設置時!音量又會太大!經常需要調教! 這是比較差的部分!其餘色質及易用程度都附合要求!整體產品合格

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GREAT DEVICE

HTZ9F 02 January 2019 by CY BOY (USA)

I PURCHASE THIS DEVICE 2 MONTHS AGO VERY HAPPY WITH THE RESULT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Powerful sub woofer bass

HT-Z9F//M SP1 02 January 2019 by Tchormg (Malaysia)

The sub woofer bass so powerful till get my neighbors complaint

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great soundbar

HTZ9F 01 January 2019 by Billy61 (USA)

Added this to my Sony x900f and it sounds great. Looks good and sound is great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

高音色出色,但重音比較迅色.

HT-Z9F 31 December 2018  ()

我買左呢個產品一個月,大至上都很滿意,但可惜HDMI INPUT 不對應4K 5入1出 SECTETER時. 時原當我插入SECTETER時, HT-Z9F只認到我PS4一部機, 其他HDMI輸入完全認唔到, 只有呢一個問題我比較不滿.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Complete Wireless Quality Sound and Bass.

HT-Z9F 28 December 2018 by 0S10D00GIT1TB (USA)

Updates: I can see that as the more we take in to our interest the more our smart devices become exactly what we want for ever. Since 98

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Should come with the rear speaker as a package

HT-Z9F//M SP1 24 December 2018 by Mewolfie (Singapore)

Sound quality of the soundbar is okay for the price of the system. Should have come with the rear speakers as a package like those overseas and include the demo disc to help calibrate the setup. The soundbar is great for those who just like to "plug and play" but not so for those who like to fine tune their system. There's very limited setting that can be changed. It would be great if there's some sort of auto calibration available. When wall mounted, the space for cables is quite limited and awkward, can only connect "small" HDMI plug cables. After connecting 3 HDMI and LAN cable, hardly have space to hide the cables behind the soundbar, not to mention that the cables had to be turned at a very tight angle. It would be extremely challenging to use branded cables.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

fantastic sound bar

HTZ9F 04 December 2018 by jetsy61 (USA)

great sounding sound bar, easy setup thanks to sonys well detailed owners guide blows bose 300 out of the room, a much better sound bar !!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

More like 5.1 with no Dolby Atmos.

HT-Z9F 24 November 2018 by Atmos fanatic (USA)

Bought this unit over the more expensive 5000 Atmos sound bar from Sony but did not realize this is just a 5.1 setup. I have the surround speakers and listen to plenty of Dolby Atmos and DTS X soundtracks but they are merely 5.1 with no immersion of heights at all. Even with the Vertical Engine on this is disappointing and should not even have the Atmos name on it since there is no height channels and only 3 channels up front. Should have bought the more expensive 5000 for the height channels but there are no surround speakers for that unit. If you are looking for a good 5.1 set up and this is it (but awfully expensive for just 5.1) but if you want Atmos or DTSX surround then look elsewhere. 3.1 and Atmos should not even be spoken in the same description. Thanks for over hype Sony. No give us a REAL Atmos and DTS X soundbar!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

GREAT SYSTEM

HTZ9F 23 November 2018 by JEFFERSON0428 (USA)

I,AM VERY VERY HAPPY WITH THIS SOUND BAR, IT IS ALSOME

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Bad atmos effect

HT-Z9F 20 November 2018 by bobby25 (Malaysia)

I bought this 4 months ago with the rear speakers , Sony Malaysia does not not provide a demo disc , so you would have to download samples online Bass is good , but midrange is lousy , cant hear vocals clearly in a movie Also the atmos effect is non existant , it needs top firing speakers . I hope Sony can produce top firing speakers and make them optional for this set

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great speakers

HTZ9F 10 November 2018 by Kingcobra (USA)

It was a easy set up and the sound is excellent and have to give it a five because it sounds good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ease of use

HT-Z9F//M SP1 08 November 2018 by Unclelim (Malaysia)

Movies: decent surround (not sure if it really requires the wireless rear speakers to provide surround) Music: below par quality (not suitable for music) Pro: save space and easy to use Price is on the high side

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

fantastic sound

HTZ9F 04 November 2018 by tzar1 (USA)

easy set up great features sounds great (so far)..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Soundbar

HT-Z9F//M SP1 04 November 2018  (Singapore)

Design is good,USB port on the back not easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Audio

HT-Z9F//M SP1 31 October 2018 by Delipayed (Malaysia)

Excellent simulated Atmos effects. Almost convincing frontal surround sound. Easy to setup too! How I wished the wireless surround speaker comes as standard.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

音質可以...唔錯的

HT-Z9F 05 October 2018 by 地道香港人 ()

音質可以...唔錯的...但配A8F...會耐不耐會斷聲...情況約兩星期一次左右...不知原因..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great SB and it has 2 HDMI Inputs

HTZ9F 26 September 2018 by jghsony (USA)

This SB has 2 HDMI inputs so that I can connect my cable box and 4K Player into it to take advantages of the sound features.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

GREAT FEATURES.

HT-Z9F 26 September 2018 by chan6686 (Malaysia)

Anybody have buy this product HT-Z9F that is a good sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Very Happy

HTZ9F 25 September 2018 by Master 1 (USA)

We bought the sound bar with Sony XBR75900F TV, and it has created theatre like surround sound. The negative is the screen display on the bar, it is almost illegible from the TV viewing distance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Everything Sony

HT-Z9F 17 September 2018 by yads2k11 (USA)

Had mine for a few months now, it's awesome only missing 1 key feature-- "night mode" need a schedule on and off switch. I don't like the sw on at night so I wish it can go on and off on its own, otherwise this thing is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

聲音可以,但系統好似有bugs

HT-Z9F 13 September 2018  ()

聲音可以,但menu經常性自動轉為簡體十分麻煩同埋轉裝置輸入時間有點耐,希望在將來的更新能解決有關問題

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by Christopher44 (USA)

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

功能很出色!

HT-Z9F 06 September 2018 by mingko2018 ()

DTS:X™ Soundbar | HT-Z9F我一個月前購買了此產品,音質及功能確實不錯 ,並為此感到高興

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

wonderful product

HT-Z9F 03 September 2018 by stefan james (USA)

I have recently purchased the 3.1ch Dolby Atmos sound for my SONY Bravia ultra4KHDR TV, The sound is awesome. I can feel like I'm watching a movie in the theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Good function and features

HT-Z9F//M TH1 26 August 2018 by Jubjangjung (Thailand)

I think it is good for having this soundbar and happy to listen the nice music and movie.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It is ok, servces the purpose but could be better

HTZ9F 23 August 2018 by Kherrm (USA)

Purchased a couple months ago to upgrade from a Dennon sound bar with wireless sub. It is ok but think it could sound better for the price. I have it attached to a Sony 65" Smart tv. Sound is good but not spectacular. Have an old Klipsch unit with another tv that appears to have better sound depth.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

7

0

原本滿意 但係…

HT-Z9F 19 August 2018  ()

買完套機 再等左2星期 終於收到後置喇叭 對應atmos 效果果然出色 可惜用左個零星期 條巴間歇出現聲窒 情況更持續頻密 唉 又要山長水遠攞出去銅鑼灣檢查 又唔知要check幾耐 令人非常無奈

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

音色不錯

HT-Z9F 12 August 2018 by variableej ()

增加看電視樂趣,例如覲看youtube內music video 和電影。有了視覺加聽覺,咁先係亨受。

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound but...

HT-Z9F 24 July 2018 by Tvandmusicsametime (USA)

I purchase this an a Sony xbr55x900f Sony 4k tv. Everything fairly easy to set up. Sounds great. No problems in that area. Very satisfied overall. If there is one thing I would like to see added is the ability to watch tv (with the sound turned down) and listen to music via bluetooth. Also listen to music while playing video games (with the sound tunes down). Have tried every possible combination of hookup and cannot seem to make this happen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

8

0

Real Review! Best High Definition Sound Bar

HTZ9F 17 July 2018 by BrZ1982 (USA)

First off, almost all of the reviews I've read, describe Sony's branded discription. You can change the wording, but it's still the same sentence. This really bothers me!! With that said, I'm going to be the first to give a real user review from someone who is very familiar with high-definition 24-bit sound and Dolby Atmos. I have owned it all. Whether you own a Sony TV or not, the number one reason to buy this Soundbar is the Virtual Sound Engine. When this feature is enabled, by pressing the Vertical-S button, all audio signals are upscale to 7.1 virtual surround. To me it sounds like the audio is firing from every direction. Without this option the audio fires directly at you. Something I'm sure we're all used to. I bought this Soundbar to play 24 bit or greater audio, whether it be TV, movies or music. I was ready for the next big step in audio development. The Sony HT-Z9F is the best sounding Soundbar I have ever owned. I've had sound bars from JBL, Samsung, Klipsch and LG. The htz9f is the first Soundbar that sounds like a REAL sound system. The Z9F has true 3.1 sound, equivalent to any independently powered left, right and Center Channel setup. This is thanks to Sonys S-Master HX amplifier which allows each speaker to act independently in true 3.1 fashion. This is something completely revolutionary and new to Soundbars in general. As I'm sure everyone wants to know, the subwoofer is excellent. Installation was as simple as plugging in the power source and turning the system on. The subwoofer has incredibly impressive bass tones which hit the very lowest of decibels. Playing rap music with very deep bass was not an issue at full volume. I also positioned my subwoofer behind my couch. The bass is Amplified correctly throughout the entire room. Thanks again to the Sony rep that just happened to be in the store when I made the purchase. I really appreciate the extra discount! If you're using a Sony TV, make sure to go into your advanced audio settings and select compressed audio as well as Auto 2 for compressed multi-channel audio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

24

10

0

Real Review! Best High Definition Sound Bar

HT-Z9F 17 July 2018 by BZupancic (USA)

First off, almost all of the reviews I've read, describe Sony's branded discription. You can change the wording, but it's still the same sentence. This really bothers me!! With that said, I'm going to be the first to give a real user review from someone who is very familiar with high-definition 24-bit sound and Dolby Atmos. I have owned it all. Whether you own a Sony TV or not, the number one reason to buy this Soundbar is the Virtual Sound Engine. When this feature is enabled, by pressing the Vertical-S button, all audio signals are upscale to 7.1 virtual surround. To me it sounds like the audio is firing from every direction. Without this option the audio fires directly at you. Something I'm sure we're all used to. I bought this Soundbar to play 24 bit or greater audio, whether it be TV, movies or music. I was ready for the next big step in audio development. The Sony HT-Z9F is the best sounding Soundbar I have ever owned. I've had sound bars from JBL, Samsung, Klipsch and LG. The htz9f is the first Soundbar that sounds like a REAL sound system. The Z9F has true 3.1 sound, equivalent to any independently powered left, right and Center Channel setup. This is thanks to Sonys S-Master HX amplifier which allows each speaker to act independently in true 3.1 fashion. This is something completely revolutionary and new to Soundbars in general. As I'm sure everyone wants to know, the subwoofer is excellent. Installation was as simple as plugging in the power source and turning the system on. The subwoofer has incredibly impressive bass tones which hit the very lowest of decibels. Playing rap music with very deep bass was not an issue at full volume. I also positioned my subwoofer behind my couch. The bass is Amplified correctly throughout the entire room. Thanks again to the Sony rep that just happened to be in the store when I made the purchase. I really appreciate the extra discount! If you're using a Sony TV, make sure to go into your advanced audio settings and select compressed audio as well as Auto 2 for compressed multi-channel audio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

4

0

WIFI

HTZ9F 17 July 2018 by Dangaby (USA)

THIS PRODUCT IS QUALITY EVEN THOUGH HIT A SNAG INSTALLING IT

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The sound keeps cutting out in random intervals.

HTZ9F 10 July 2018 by sal1981 (USA)

I bought this less then a month ago and the sound keeps cutting out on me randomly. I wish some would get a hold of me to fix this. I don't know who to contact. Other then that it is a great product when it is working. I would like to give it more stars if this issue could be fixed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Great small package with diverse capabilities

HT-Z9F 12 June 2018 by Ben50 (USA)

I am music and sound affectionate and I have been fortunate to have decent systems through my life. Lately I was looking to a sound bar to replace my old Sony HT CT260 and at the same time get an upgrade with the budget stablished at 1K. After researching several sound bars in that price range and reading reviews and manuals, yes someone read manuals even not owning the product, I decided to do sound test with my top choices: Denon Home cinema Heos HS 2 and Sony HT-Z9F. On paper Sony had all the features I am looking for; Wi-Fi connectivity, all Dolby protocols including Dolby Atmos, High resolution music capabilities and a center channel. Listing closely they were a similar for my ears. I choose Sony because I have a TV Sony and the fact that it has Dolby Atmos, a dedicated amplified center channel and High resolution music upscaling software. It also helps knowing that I will be able to acquire the wireless rear speakers in the future moving to a real 5.1 setup. The sound produced by this sound bar is incredible on definition, texture and different frequencies and it is as loud as the total 400 watts. The sub-woofer has not only strong sonic abilities with its deep bass but has the tightness and definition expected on upscale systems. It also integrates it sound seamlessly to the bar giving a much unified experience regardless you are watching movies or listening to music. In relation to the music, they are some important points in order to adjust the experience to your sound signature preferences: a) In order to use the High Resolution upscaling capability (DSEE HX) you have to use the advanced set up correctly and it will work only when Music or Auto Sound is selected. Actually, for some low quality (kpbs) MP3 files the sound will be somehow harsh and on this case you must turn this off. First of all it is very strange for me, that someone buys a High resolution capable system and use the lowest quality MP3s to play in this system. For more details refer to page 52 on the manual. b) The tone adjustment; old fashion bass and treble, it is in this system called “Level”, and contradicts some reviews where it is claimed impossible to adjust highs and lows in the system. You need to access advanced settings, then speaker and select level. You will be able to increase or decrease the output by 6dB in 0.5 increments like any other equalizer. The front speaker adjustment will change the treble response and the subwoofer the bass response. c) In order to get the best musical performances you have to turn DRC off. It compress the dynamic range making the music sound flat. Overall after adjusting this system I was able to experience a sound quality that I did not expected from such small speaker’s drivers in such elegant design. I strongly recommend this sound bar!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

25

1

0

Good product

HTZ9F 11 June 2018 by Banmastr (USA)

This is a good sound bar. It does the job. The volume has to be up pretty high for the sub woofer and extra speakers to kick in, so it's not quite as dynamic of a sound as the store display.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Atmos效果超強,但聽歌一般

HT-Z9F 07 June 2018 by WhoAmI ()

電影欣賞,Atmos & Dts-x環繞效果超強,配後置喇叭後效果更為出色,但作為用作聽歌,音質一般

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

電視變成電影院

HT-Z9F 06 June 2018  ()

在旺角聽示範 馬上落單 取代用咗少於半年的 CT-790. 自己完成(Sony係會上門免費裝)接駁和 setup 後 開始聽 跟試音室的感覺一點不假 1.有 wifi connect 方便睇網和以後 firmware 更新 2.Vertical 音牆 令聲音模擬從屏幕面向前發放 3.dialogue 人聲 從其他音效脫穎而出 而且有 UP-1 UP-2 兩級提升選項 同時左右 及 模擬聲道清晰傳散 4.加入(CT-790沒有)可直控另購 surround (未出世)響度 用家可按喜好調整前後比例 5.低音喇叭和soundbar 頻譜分工不誇張 好厚 極低頻乾淨 冇一舊舊 我用Apple 4K 盒睇戲 只要on 4K盒 電視 soundbar 全on. 物超所值 但總希望繼續改良 俾用家有更多選擇

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

ARC kills Smart functions..

HT-Z9F 14 May 2018 by leezor (USA)

I bought this last week w/ the rear speakers, and it works great when going through a HDMI input, but while connected to via the ARC HDMI ports of the bar and my tv (sony 75x940e), my Netflix and apps don't output through the rear speakers.. switching to hdmi 1, my time warner set top box, the rears works.. i've tried everything.. getting very annoyed..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

11

15

0

HT-Z9F 3.1 Dolby Atmos Soundbar

HTZ9F 02 May 2018 by Rkirt (USA)

I wanted a sound system that was capable of pass through the latest video signals. I also wanted Dolby Atmos reproduction. My viewing area is not suitable for signal reflection. The room is open on one end, has a fireplace with windows and shutters surrounding it on the other end. The wall opposite the TV has a bank of windows with shutters. The ceiling is vaulted with a large fan. In other words, no flat uniform surfaces. The specifications of the Sony HT-Z9F sounded great for my purposes. As soon as they became available I bought one. At first I wasn't too impressed. The sound did not seem like it was coming from all directions like in a theater. Then I configured my DVD player to output a bitstream signal. The soundbar came alive. Closing my eyes and listening to a movie with Dolby Atmos did seem like I was sitting in a theater. Left and right separation was clear. The sound from the movie followed the scenes left and right AND up and down. After hearing how good the 3.1 system was, I purchased the rear surrounds-SA-Z9R. They are a must have for this system. They are wireless except for the power cords. This system is a hoot. Simple, tidy, up to date, and boy does it fill the room with clear, crisp sound coming from small speakers. Movies are so much fun to watch with the added sound effects of Dolby Atmos with this system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

28

6

0

Very Satisfied!

HTZ9F 25 April 2018 by Chas1030 (USA)

I purchased the HT-Z9F last week and added the rear speakers several days later. The sub, and later the rear speakers, connected instantaneously without a hitch. However, the system required some tweaking before I heard the sound I was hoping to hear. I had to activate Bravia Sync on my XBR-43X800D. Then I got out my tape measure and SPL meter and set distances and levels in the Advanced Settings. Non-audio settings required adjustment as well. The IR Repeater is off by default and the HDMI video signal needed to be set to Enhanced. The audio with the Vertical Engine off is a little tinny and not particularly satisfying. However, with the Vertical Engine on, the HT-Z9F really shines. After trying Atmos UHD movies, Apple TV 4K {5.1 LPCM but no Atmos), and music via Bluetooth and ChromeCast, I left Vertical Engine on for everything. The soundstage is wide and high. The included demo material showcases the height effects but Atmos 4K movie effects sound richer and higher in the front rather than anything directly overhead. The bass is plenty powerful. You can tweak as you wish easily via the remote. The soundbar alone is very good and can fill a small room but the rear speakers definitely improve the experience. And it can get LOUD… I have the HT-Z9F plus rear speakers in my small to medium sized office and they completely fill the room with excellent sound that has exceeded my expectations. My wife, an AV Luddite, even said “Wow! Impressive!”

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

23

3

0

Nice sound

HT-Z9F 23 April 2018 by Jay1234 (USA)

Packing was very neat and easy to take out of the box. Setup was very straightforward and you really don't even need the instructions. The subwoofer paired instantly as soon as it was plugged in. Compared to more entry level soundbars, it will take you a while to check all the settings available and adjust them (speaker distance, enhanced HDMI, voice control, and so on). While I can't say I notice a definitive Atmos effect, the sound field does seem remarkably wide for a bar with 3 tiny speakers in it. I didn't buy the separate rear speaker package but may do that to improve the sound even further.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

15

4

0

...

HT-Z9F 11 January 2018 by B panikumar (USA)

Super and awesome product i fully satisfy with sony products

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

32