Australia

James Day

James Day

James Day is a wedding photographer based near Sydney, Australia. James has been photographing weddings for 15 years and in that time has photographed around 650 weddings. His images are known for the emotions that they convey, especially through the way that he uses light. James regularly appears in top photographers lists but isn’t one for entering competitions. He says “my biggest reward is having a couple enjoy the experience and fall in love with their partner all over again during the shoot”. James has photographed celebrity weddings but his real love lies in everyday people who are in love.

What keeps you inspired as a Wedding Photographer? 

I was inspired to become a wedding photographer shortly after my father passed away and I inherited the professional camera gear that he had taught me to use. It was at my sister’s wedding where I used that camera gear to capture the event. Growing up in a home with a sick father, moments and memories were priceless and capturing the connections between people became something that I knew was important from an early age. Becoming a wedding photographer just made sense to me. 

Describe your wedding photography style. 

My wedding photography style is relaxed and uncomplicated, yet with depth beyond measure I believe that a photo is a window back to a moment in time and so I do whatever I can to make sure that it’s a moment that people want to revisit.I ask a lot of questions when photographing people ultimately to remind them of the love that exists in their life in that very moment. 

What are some challenges you face in Wedding Photography? 

One of the main challenges I have faced over the years is finding camera gear that won’t get in the way. For me, the best camera gear is simple to operate, reliable and operates such that it doesn’t require me to constantly manipulate the settings. I believe that any moment spent manipulating the camera is a moment taken away from me connecting with my subjects. 

 

What are the important details needed for Wedding Photography? 

Wedding Photography actually involves multiple genres of photography all in one day. One moment you’re a landscape photographer, the next moment you’re a portrait photographer, a documentary photographer, and so on. It’s important to have a good grasp of all of these, as ultimately being a good, well rounded wedding photographer involves mastering all of these genres to a certain degree. 

 

What camera and lenses do you shoot with? 

I shoot with two sets of α9 with my favourite lens being the SEL35F14Z lens. I also use the SEL1224G and SEL85F14GM. 

  

How does your equipment support you in your photography? 

The α9 I photograph with is a tool I can’t live without. Having the power of a full-size DSLR built into a more compact mirrorless design is something that I’ve been wanting for many years. From having a completely silent shutter, to being able to shoot in dark situations that were previously out of the question, the α9 opens up opportunities that previously just weren’t there. 

  

James's Gear

ILCE-9


α9

ILCE-9

澳洲

James Day

James Day

James Day 是一名位於澳洲悉尼附近的婚禮攝影師。他擁有 15 年婚禮拍攝經驗,並參與了大約 650 場婚禮拍攝工作。他的圖像以傳達的情感而聞名,特別是通過其使用光的方式。James 經常出現在頂級攝影師名單中,但他不參加比賽。他說:「我最大的回報是讓一對夫婦享受美好體驗,並在拍攝期間再次戀上對方」。James 曾為名人婚禮拍攝,但他真正喜歡的是拍攝熱戀中的普羅大眾。

身為婚禮攝影師,什麼是您的靈感來源呢? 

在父親去世後不久,我就想成為一名婚禮攝影師,並繼承他教過我使用的專業攝影器材。在姐姐的婚禮上就是使用那部相機來捕捉美好時光。生病的父親陪伴著我成長,時光和記憶是無價的,捕捉人與人之間的聯繫成為我從小就知道的重要事情。成為一名婚禮攝影師對我來說別具意義。

請描述您的婚禮攝影風格。 

我的婚禮攝影風格輕鬆而簡單,但富有深度而無法衡量,我相信照片是回到某個時刻的回憶之窗,所以我盡力確保相片能夠令人們重新回味那一刻。拍攝人物時我會提出很多問題,從而喚醒他們在那一刻生命中存在的愛。

您在婚禮攝影中面臨哪些挑戰? 

我多年來面臨的主要挑戰,就是尋找不會妨礙我的相機器材。對我來說,最好的攝影器材應該操作簡單、可靠和方便使用,且不需要我經常修改設定。我相信調整相機的任何時刻都會將我與拍攝主體分離出來。

 

婚禮攝影需要注重哪些重要細節? 

婚禮攝影實際上在一天內會涉及多種類型的攝影。這一刻是風景攝影師,下一刻就是肖像攝影師、紀錄片攝影師等等。了解所有這些攝影類型非常重要,因為最終成為優秀、全面的婚禮攝影師需要在一定程度上掌握所有這些攝影類型。

 

您用什麼相機和鏡頭拍攝? 

我使用兩套 Alpha 9 拍攝,而最喜歡的鏡頭是 Distagon T * FE 35mm F1.4 ZA 鏡頭。我還使用 FE 12-24mm F4 G 和 FE 85mm F1.4 GM。

  

您的攝影器材如何在攝影中提供支援? 

α9 是我拍攝時必備的工具。將全片幅數碼單鏡反光相機的強大功能內置於更小巧的無反光鏡設計中,這就是我多年來一直夢寐以求的東西。從配備完全靜音快門,到能夠在黑暗環境中拍攝,α9 打破從前的種種限制,並為攝影世界開啟了全新的可能。

  

James 的攝影器材

ILCE-7RM3

Alpha 7R III

ILCE-7RM3

ILCE-9

Alpha 9

ILCE-9

SEL85F14GM

FE 85 毫米 F1.4 GM

SEL85F14GM

SEL1224G

FE 12-24mm F4 G

SEL1224G

SEL35F14Z

Distagon T* FE 35 毫米 F1.4 ZA

SEL35F14Z