This is the specification of Windows® XP. This feature was changed as most of folders are set as Read-Only by the computer, and not by the user.
For more information, please refer to the following solution in Microsoft's technical support website.
Article ID: Q283262
Last Reviewed: October 18, 2001
Title: Confirmation Prompt Is Not Displayed When You Rename a Read-Only Folder