Information / Solution
For security reasons, passwords cannot be easily unlocked by third parties. If you’ve forgotten your screen lock PIN, password or pattern, you might be able to reset it. However, it is important to note that with some of the reset methods, you lose all content stored on the device when resetting the screen lock.
Note! Before performing any of the actions described in this article, make sure you know your Google account username and password. Depending on your security settings, your Xperia device may lock after a reset or repair. You then need to enter your Google account username and password in order to use the device. If you don't remember your Google account username and password, you cannot unlock the device yourself.
Tip: You can recover your Google account username and password using the Google Account Recovery page at https://www.google.com/accounts/recovery/. If you still can't reactivate your device, contact us.
Try one of these methods to reset your screen lock:
A. Using Find My Device to reset your Xperia device – Only a reset that erases all content on the internal memory and the external SD card of the Xperia device is possible. Note that in some cases the content on the SD card might not get erased.
B. Using the Repair phone/tablet feature to reset your Xperia device – Only a reset that erases all content on the internal memory of the Xperia device is possible. No content on your Xperia device is kept. Content on the external SD card does not get erased.
A. Using Find My Device to reset your Xperia device
Note! Make sure you know your Google account username and password. You may have to use them to be able to use your Xperia device after the reset.
This reset method requires that the Xperia device has an active Internet connection (Wi-Fi or mobile network). A full factory data reset is performed when you choose this method. All content on your Xperia device will be deleted. In some cases, the content on the SD card might not get erased during a reset using Find My Device.
If your SD card isn't encrypted, you can remove it before you perform the reset in order to prevent its content from being erased. If you're using your Xperia device in a corporate environment, however, your IT department may have enforced encryption on the SD card in your device. In this case, the content of the SD card is erased or made unreadable when you perform a reset even if you remove the card beforehand.
To reset the Xperia device using Find My Device
- If your SD card isn't encrypted or used in a corporate environment, remove it before you perform the reset. Turn off the Xperia device before you remove the SD card. Turn the device back on when you have removed the SD card.
- On a computer or in a mobile browser, go to www.android.com/find.
- Sign in to the Google Account that you previously added to your device.
- If you have more than one device, select the device that you're locked out of at the top of the screen.
- Select Erase. Be aware that this action will permanently erase all of your data, for example, your apps, photos and music. After you erase the content of your device, Find My Device will no longer work on it.
- After you remotely erase the content of your device, you can set up your device again with your Google account and a new screen lock.
B. Using the Software repair feature to reset your Xperia device
You can reset your screen lock by using a USB cable, a computer and the Software repair feature in the Xperia Companion application. Your device has to be turned off. To watch a video showing how to perform a software repair, tap or click here.
Note! The Software repair feature replaces the software in your device. All personal data stored in your device will be lost. Content on the external SD card does not get erased. The Xperia device must have a minimum charge level of 80% before you can perform a software repair.
To perform a software repair
- Computer: If not already installed, download and install the Xperia Companion application.
Note: Do not connect the USB cable to your PC before starting to use your Xperia Companion.
- Open the Xperia Companion application.
- Xperia device: Make sure your Xperia device is turned off.
- Connect your Xperia device to the computer using a USB cable.
- Computer: Under Manage your Xperia, click Software repair.
- Mark the My device cannot be detected checkbox, then click Next.
- Follow the on-screen instructions.
Tip: If you can’t turn off your Xperia device, before performing a software repair, force it to shut down. To shut down, press and hold down the power key and the volume up key simultaneously until the device emits three vibrations.