With BRAVIA, sustainability in every scene

With growing demand for ever larger TV screens, there is also the risk of greater resource and energy use. However, Sony’s sustainability commitments are realising efficiency gains from product development right through to watching TV.

Immersive experience meets environmental consideration

With BRAVIA, you will be able to enjoy the most immersive TV experiences and stunning designs, right alongside innovations to lower environmental impact by helping reduce energy consumption and use of non-renewable resources.

Making it, moving it, and using it more efficiently

Advanced engineering for sustainability

To reduce environmental impact, we are working on multiple aspects across the product life cycle, such as reduction of virgin plastic, improvement of transportation efficiency, and review of power consumption during use.

Making

Using less virgin plastic

Combining high recycling and product quality

Across every design aspect, from material development to aesthetics, we succeeded in increasing our use of recycled material while preserving the high quality finish. Especially, for OLED TVs, Sony-developed SORPLAS™ recycled plastics are used for the rear cover, the largest TV part by area, reducing overall virgin plastic use by approximately 60%.

Product image facing rear-side and SORPLAS pellet
Recycled, and beautiful 

It can be more difficult to achieve certain qualities of appearance when using recycled plastic materials for exterior parts. However, our SORPLAS™ recycled plastics can be used with careful raw material selection, composition adjustment during manufacturing, and a proprietary additive recipe, and achieve the beautiful high-gloss black finish customers expect from BRAVIA.

Image of endurance test being performed.
Lasting durability for long-term use

Plastic for home appliances such as TVs contains additives for strength and fire retardancy. The material development for SORPLAS™ allows minimised use of additives to achieve the properties equal to conventional TVs using general plastic. As a result, the TV will have a long useful lifetime, with less environmental footprint.

Towards closed loop with repeated recyclability

One advantage of SORPLAS™ is that it won't degrade too much even after being recycled several times. Recycled SORPLAS™ parts have a potential to reduce the volume of waste and contribute toward recycle-oriented society.

Manufacturing for less weight

External Air Injection

Precision moulding techniques make panels strong and beautiful while cutting weight, so packaging also becomes thinner, reducing plastic usage. External air injection presses resin parts with air to eliminate both warping and waste.

[1] Dimples caused by uneven pressure with normal moulding  [2] No dimples with External Air Injection moulding  [3] Exterior surface 
[4] Interior surface  [5] Instead of overfilling the plastic, air pressure is applied from the rear to avoid uneven pressure.

Moving

Towards more sustainable logistics
Illustration showing reduced weight and improved packaging structure compared to the 2018 model
Better packaging with less plastic

Conventionally, packaging material is needed above and below BRAVIA TVs, as well as on the left and right ends. After numerous simulations and decades of global logistics experience, we have optimised packaging design to protect the TV with reduced packaging materials, achieving an approximately 35% reduction of the packaging plastic volume.

Cutting CO2 with smaller and lighter packaging

By reengineering the packaging that protects the product during shipping, we cut the package size by 15% and total weight by 10%. This increases the number of units on one pallet by approximately 1.3 times. As a result, CO2 emissions per unit from product transportation have been reduced by approximately 15%.

Illustration of external air injection moulding process in comparison with the normal moulding process.
Images comparing old and new product packaging
Less ink saves resources

Product information printed on the package has been carefully considered for simplicity and length in order to reduce print ink usage by approximately 90% to lower impact without compromising the packaging design and appeal.

Using

High picture quality and low energy use
Image showing that the screen brightness is adjusted according to the environment
Optimal viewing and energy use with automatic brightness control

With ambient light sensing enabled, the screen brightness is optimised for your room’s lighting, and power consumption can be reduced.

 [1] Darker environment  [2] Brighter environment

Image showing that power consumption is controlled according to the brightness of the display.
Automatic viewer sensing

By attaching the exclusive accessory BRAVIA CAM to detect viewer movement, when there is noone in front of the TV, the screen is automatically dimmed to minimize power consumption  .

UI of the TV when set to power saving mode
Easy setup for ideal picture and energy savings

One-step TV setup makes setting up easier and more rewarding. You can select Power Saving mode that helps to achieve the desired balance between display brightness and the power usage simply from the initial setup menu.

[1] Off  [2] High

Image showing that power consumption is controlled according to the brightness of the display
Efficient power usage according to the brightness of each image location

Enjoy clean and vibrant images with unique signal processing to optimise every part of the picture.

[1] Dark  [2] Typical brightness  [3] Bright

Reimagining plastic for the environment

Shusuke Tomonaga

Product Design Dept 2, TV Business Group
Sony Corporation

Portrait of the speaker featured in the interview

Since 2010, our TV department has been actively using SORPLAS™, a recycled plastic with a high recycling rate, in order to design products in an environmentally conscious way.

 As TVs become larger and the number of units being shipped increases, so does the impact on the environment. In order to produce larger TVs while reducing impact on the environment, we have been developing materials together with group companies since 2018, using SORPLAS™ not only for internal parts, but also for the exterior, which comprises a large amount of plastic.

To use SORPLAS™ for exterior parts requires a high level of design know-how, but after repeated prototyping and recipe improvements, we developed a SORPLAS™ formula that can be used for the back cover, which has the largest surface area, and it will be used in some of the 2021 BRAVIA XR models onward, reducing the amount of virgin plastic by half compared with previous models.

 BRAVIA will, in addition to SORPLAS™, introduce other recycled materials at all of their production facilities and continue to make further contributions to reducing environmental impact around the world.

BRAVIA 電視讓可持續發展存在於每個場景中

隨著對大電視螢幕尺寸的需求愈加增長,增加資源和能源使用量的風險亦因而提升。然而,Sony 秉承可持續發展承諾,持續體現從產品開發到電視觀看體驗的成效。

逼真體驗與環保理念完美結合

有了 BRAVIA 電視,您可以享受猶如親歷其境的電視體驗和令人驚艷的設計,結合有助減少能源消耗及使用非再生資源的創新技術,從而降低對環境的影響。

更高效的產品製造、運輸及使用過程

先進的可持續發展工藝

為減少對環境造成的影響,我們從產品生命週期中的多個範疇著手,例如減少使用原生塑料、提高運輸效率,並檢討使用過程中的耗電量。

製造

減少使用原生塑料

結合回收效率與產品質素

從材料開發到美學,每個設計環節都經過細心考量,我們在保留優質外殼的前提下,成功增加使用再生物料。成功例子莫過於 OLED 電視:其後蓋使用 Sony 開發的 SORPLAS™ 再生塑料製成,亦即按面積計算的最大電視部件,令原生塑料的整體用量減少了約 60%。

從後拍攝的產品圖片與 SORPLAS 顆粒
再生之美 

使用再生塑膠物料製造的外部部件,可能會較難滿足某些外觀品質要求。然而,我們的 SORPLAS™ 再生塑料由經過慎選的原料製成,並於製造過程中調整成分,再加上獨有的添加劑配方,最終創造出優雅的高光黑色塗層,絕對符合客戶對 BRAVIA 的期望。

進行耐用性測試的圖片。
經久耐用

電視等家用電器所用的塑料含有可增加堅固度和阻燃性的添加劑。在 SORPLAS™ 的物料開發過程中,我們儘可能減少使用添加劑,同時確保產品性能與使用一般塑料的傳統電視相同。最終,電視的使用壽命得以延長,造成的環境足跡亦更少。

邁向可重複回收的閉環式再生程序

SORPLAS™ 的其中一項優點,在於經過多次回收亦不會過度分解。SORPLAS™ 再生部件有可能減少廢物數量,有利於建立著重回收再造的社會環境。

為減輕重量而製造

外部空氣注入

精密的模塑技術可製造出結構堅固、外型美觀的面板,同時減輕部件重量,令包裝更為纖薄,並同時減少使用塑料。外部空氣注入技術可利用空氣加壓樹脂部件,避免變形並減少浪費。

[1] 普通模塑時因壓力不均而造成的凹痕 [2] 採用外部注氣注入模塑時並無凹痕 [3] 外層表面 
[4] 內層表面 [5] 不過量填充塑料,而從後方施加空氣壓力,以免造成壓力不均。

運輸

邁向可進一步持續發展的物流程序
與 2018 年型號相比,重量減少和結構經改良後的包裝示意圖
含較少塑料的更優質包裝

原先 BRAVIA 電視的上方和下方,以及左右兩端都需要使用包裝物料。經過無數次的模擬過程,加上累積數十年的環球物流經驗,我們終於設計出能以較少包裝物料保護電視的改良包裝,令塑料包裝體積減少約 35%

以更小巧輕盈的包裝減少二氧化碳排放

透過重新設計在運輸過程中保護產品的包裝,我們將包裝尺寸減少了 15%,總重量則減少 10%。這令每顆顆粒包含的單元數量增加大約 1.3 倍。最終,產品運輸過程中每單位的二氧化碳排放量減少約 15%

外部空氣注入模塑工藝與普通模塑工藝的對比示意圖。
比較新舊產品包裝的圖片
減少使用油墨,節省資源

印於包裝上的產品資訊經過仔細考慮,確保內容簡明扼要;以在不影響包裝設計和吸引力的前提下,將印刷油墨的使用量減少約 90%,避免影響環境。

使用

高畫質,低耗能
根據環境調整螢幕亮度的圖片
自動亮度調整,達至最佳的觀看效果和能源使用率

啟用環境光線感應功能後,螢幕亮度可根據房間的光線優化,降低耗電量。

[1] 較昏暗的環境 [2] 較明亮的環境

根據顯示屏的亮度控制耗電量的圖片。
自動感應觀看者

只要安裝可偵測觀看者動作的獨家 BRAVIA CAM 配件,當電視前方沒有觀眾時,螢幕就會自動變暗,以儘可能減少耗電量

節能模式下的電視用戶界面
輕易設定理想的畫質及節能效果

一步即可完成電視設定,輕鬆達至更高效能。只要從初始設定目錄中選取節能模式,即可於調整顯示屏亮度與減低耗電量之間達至理想平衡。

[1] 關 [2] 高

根據顯示屏的亮度控制耗電量的圖片
根據各影像位置的亮度,有效使用電力

以獨特的訊號處理優化畫面的每一部分,享受生動俐落的影像。

[1] 昏暗  [2] 一般亮度  [3] 明亮

重新構想環保塑料

友永周介

電視事務部產品設計部門 2
Sony Corporation

所採訪的發言人相片

自 2010 年起,我們的電視部門積極使用回收率較高的再生物料 SORPLAS™,以更環保的方式設計產品。

隨著電視尺寸越來越大,且出貨量愈加提升,對環境的影響亦隨之增加。為了生產尺寸更大的電視,同時減少對環境的影響,我們自 2018 年起一直與集團公司共同研發物料,不僅將 SORPLAS™ 用於內部部件上,還將其用於包含大量塑料的外部部件。

將 SORPLAS™ 用於外部部件需要高水平的設計知識,經過反覆進行原型設計和配方改良後,我們研發出 SORPLAS™ 公式,可用於表面面積最大的後蓋。SORPLAS™ 也將用於 2021 年 BRAVIA XR 及後的部分型號,與之前的型號相比,其原生塑料的用量減少達一半。

除了 SORPLAS™,BRAVIA 還將在其所有生產設施中引入其他再生材料,繼續致力減少對全球環境的影響。