153

4.7 based on 153 customer reviews

111
33
8
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fast and sharp lens for action photography.

SEL100400GM 06 July 2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for the first time for action-shots four days ago. The results are amazing, even when used during sunset. All at 400mm f5.6 1/1000sec ISO640.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

R3_100-400GM

SEL100400GM 03 August 2018 by Fitz Michael (USA)

I had this lens for couple months now and I've noticed the lens sometimes it won't focus. I have to turn off the camera and it the lens works again. I updated the software to the latest one available to download and that did not fix the problem. also, the manual focus to infinity is not calibrated correctly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

153 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Lens

SEL100400GM 15 November 2021 by HappySnapper13 (United Kingdom)

This lens gives bitingly sharp with images and produces good Bokeh. I don't find the focussing as good as I had hoped from reading reviews beforehand

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great telephoto lens

SEL100400GM 09 November 2021 by Orolon55 (USA)

Great telephoto lens. Not good for low light applications tho. Day light photography unless you want to use crazy high iso. Auto focus is definitely on point!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

功能出色

SEL100400GM 22 October 2021 by albleung ()

第一感覺就是非常的紮實,用料也非常足,鏡筒為金屬材質,並且具備防塵防滴濺的能力,實現了更高的耐用性與牢固性,可滿專在苛刻拍攝條件。 靈活、使用方便,配合 SEL14TC 後仍有很不錯的表現!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Pin sharp

SEL100400GM 17 October 2021 by Kempy (United Kingdom)

This is a quality lens giving pin sharp images throughout the zoom range. It is also excellent to use as a macro lens, and also works well with the 1.4 converter. It isn't the lightest lens but I have no problem carrying it all day on a black rapid strap.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

pricey but quality images

SEL100400GM 15 October 2021 by 73DRVR (USA)

well designed lens. The selection of available lenses is wonderful that was the reason i purchased the Mirrorless camera.from Sony and dd not buy the Nikon

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great images

SEL100400GM 14 October 2021 by Ncarter (United Kingdom)

I bought this product during lockdown, I’ve had some really good quality images

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super travel lens

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by Alsads (United Kingdom)

I tend to use this lens for holiday as it’s a great all rounder. Close focusing down to around a metre so excellent for butterflies and dragonflies too. Not to heavy and pretty compact but too expensive for what it is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All rounder.

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by JohnWildlife (United Kingdom)

This lens gives you the versatility to take close ups from a distance and to capture also things at a distance like wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb image quality

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by snerkler (United Kingdom)

I've used this lens for over a year now on the A7RIV and A9 Mark II and it's been superb on both cameras. Image quality is excellent, great sharpness with very nice rendering. Autofocus is very snappy and accurate. My only niggle with this lens is that it does not have a zoom lock, and even with the zoom ring set to "tight" the lens does suffer lens creep (zoom extends) when walking around with the camera and lens on a sling strap. Oh, it would nicer if it was lighter too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by Val50 (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for a couple of months now and really love using it. It takes amazing photographs. One of the reasons I bought this lens was because it is so light and I have not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY G Master 100-400mm personal account

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by HEWRPS (United Kingdom)

I love this lens, because of its build, quality, reach and size/weight. Not very happy with tightener ring, as the lens tends to drop in or out, depending on position. Also, would be nice having a lock. Ideally would be internal zooming, to avoid all this. Maybe in the next version.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Expensive, but worth the price.

SEL100400GM 22 September 2021 by Tchitchikof (United Kingdom)

I'm still getting used to it, since I'm not really strong in tele photography, but so far I've enjoyed it a lot. The glass is clear and sharp and the hardware is silent, so it's very convenient for video as well. The only downside is that it's very heavy, but bear in mind it's aimed for professional use (which I am not).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Lens while it lasted

SEL100400GM 13 September 2021 by Cross54 (USA)

I purchased this lens in March 2021. It performed great the first few times when I used it to take a few shots of the moon (see photo), and a few other shots. I took it on a recent vacation and when I went to use it, I could not get it to focus either in Manual or Automatic mode. The sharpness is no longer there even though I babied this lens, no drops or rough handling. I have no clue as to why, but now I have to go through the hassle of sending it in for repair etc.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An absolutely stunning lens

SEL100400GM 09 September 2021 by jderyk (United Kingdom)

I got this lens after asking a friend who has one his reply was "you will not regret owning it". He was not wrong this lens is the best I've owned. It is just outstanding. Sharpe, fast focusing and crystal clear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp, fast and accurate focusing.

SEL100400GM 05 September 2021  ()

First time using this teie-zoom in sunny day. Very satisfied the focusing performance. Well weight balance with A7M4 with vertical grip. Powerful hand held gear. Same samples attached for reference.

Design

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Good lens

SEL100400GM 29 August 2021 by Angus chau ()

Good lens with high quality! Fit for family and children.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL100400GM 23 August 2021 by Mirpy1 (United Kingdom)

So I’ve been using 3rd party lenses for some time and been happy for the majority of the time. I decided having bought a new Sony full frame camera, it was time to invest in a top quality lens so went with my first G Master. All I can say is WOW! The difference between 3rd party and more premium glass is on another level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Perfect lens for getting closer to things

SEL100400GM 07 August 2021 by Del25 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens to enable me to capturer things that I was unable to with my previous zoom lens, I have not been disappointed. It is heaver that I expected, however that is also a good thing, in that it's mass makes it more stable to hold however a good tripod is a useful accessary.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Lens

SEL100400GM 08 July 2021 by Gordon1961 (United Kingdom)

Perfect for my uses and tack sharp with lightning focus speed. If you are looking for this lens, don't hesitate. You won't regret it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 01 July 2021 by Jones79 (United Kingdom)

This is a considered purchase but worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 22 June 2021  (United Kingdom)

Had this lens for just a month and so far it has been outstanding. Fast and accurate with superb image quality, just what I need to take wildlife photographs in any light. Thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony GM Lenses are Truely Grand Masters lenses

SEL100400GM 21 June 2021 by DrRaj (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens few weeks ago. I went out to test this lens today in cloudy day. Took few snaps. What is my impression. Build quality is great. Doesn't feel heavy in hand but eventually you feel it. As paired with my A7R4M its cumulative 2kg. 1.4 kg from lens.Lens zoom part relapse if set on smooth. However if you turn ring towards tight it hold well. Focus is quick but if you have used GM lenses you may feel its not quickest .I think 200-600mm G OSS and 70 to 200mm GM OSS are faster. Works well at 3ft distance in case you wanna shoot something up close. Optics are sharp, but not as sharp as 70-200mm GM OSS.Low light performance is reasonable. Bokeh is creamy. Lens produces superb detail. Noise is very little on high shutter speed even in low light and hand held.Colour reproduction is excellent. When I compare image quality with my SONY FE 24-70GM or FE 70-200GM I feel that its a bit less sharp in detailing. Very difficult to quantify. Its not that its not sharp. Its a great lens I dodnot experience chromatic abrassion. There was no vignetting.Corners maintains sharpness.I have not shot a very tall linear building hence cannot talk about linear distortion. Although it maintained alignment and sharpness when I covered a wide brick wall.Unfortunately I deleted those image. For wild life many times I felt like missing my 200-600mm. But I changed to APSC mode and it was on job again. I didnot felt any loss of quality.It wins on its small length. One can pack 3 lenses and go. As it all fits in small backpack or camera bag unlike 200-600mm G OSS. What is my final opinion, Yes I would buy it, but price is hefty. I would like it to improve at par with FE 70-200mm GM lens. Here I am attaching you few pic from my todays shoot. I used apple photo to edit it. Please leave your comment for me to look into your experience. Its my early review.Thanks for read.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

top notch lens

SEL100400GM 21 June 2021 by T old Lad (United Kingdom)

Better than I expected, auto focus very fast lock on focus excellent picture quality spot on this is a top notch lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

對焦快, A7RII配合IBIS防震上佳

SEL100400GM 13 June 2021 by kongkong ()

優點: 對焦快, 由最近對焦至無限遠及由無限遠至近對焦都好快和安靜。 鏡身短身, 可以輕鬆放入背包,附送的鏡袋十分不錯,Hood 有開孔可以調CPL 缺點: 有啲重, 冇變焦Lock 意見: 我希望如果廠方再出,就是更輕及更大先圈方向進發,要享受影相樂趣,器材的功能及重量必須要保持平衡。 用整體質素是否可用,及重量最輕來考慮,因為這才是無反的初心,那才能稱得上完美。

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

1

0

Tack sharp and fast autofocus

SEL100400GM 07 June 2021 by MarkSD (USA)

I bought this lens a few weeks ago and am overjoyed. It actually weighs less than the 70-200 GM and is incredibly sharp. Really glad that I made the purchase. Wish that the lens foot had an Arca Swiss dovetail built in so that you don't have to either add a lens plate or spend the money to replace the foot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply a great lens

SEL100400GM 04 June 2021 by Bashee (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens in March for wildlife photography and it has not disappointed, it is simply the finest lens I have ever owned. Thanks to its excellent image stabilisation it produces pin sharp pictures from its maximum 400mm extension even hand held. It is lighter than my previous lens of this size, important when out for a whole day in the field. Even cropped pictures retain a quality that is a significant cut above the norm. A brilliant product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Action delight

SEL100400GM 16 May 2021 by Grenache (USA)

This lens is incredible for everything from close up shots of flowers or hummingbrids to fast paced action of breaching whales in rough seas. The image stabilization and autofocus are outstanding. It is also built like a tank without feeling excessively heavy or at all off balanced. Fantastic lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

反應快速

SEL100400GM 12 May 2021 by Pthlp ()

鏡頭設計不太重,方便出外携帶,配合A1使用,反應一流,甚少迷焦情況出現,用落才發現400mm也不夠用。

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

表現可以

SEL100400GM 23 April 2021 by Kuen Kuen ()

對焦慢,畫質算清淅,反差不足,有時未能對焦,鏡頭較重,行山影靚相負荷重,辛苦,希望出新款有70-400

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

超遠攝變焦功能,精準自動對焦

SEL100400GM 22 April 2021 by chuish88 ()

超卓的解像度,精準的自動對焦功能。這款長焦變焦鏡頭推出已有一段時間,在品質要求的高階消費者市場,肯定有絕對的吸引力。

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

價錢都係貴小小

SEL100400GM 05 April 2021 by ringo li ()

都係重左小小小。能夠內置伸展就好。一定可以改善。價錢大家都可以接近。利多少就有美麗。背景都算唔錯。好。

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

All in one

SEL100400GM 12 March 2021 by Gatekeeper (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens purchased to accompany my A9 camera. Having already used the A mount version on a Sony A77 I was aware of the versatility of this lens for wildlife photography. Foreign trips with bulky 500 mm prime lenses are a thing of the past with no more bulky luggage and packing dilemmas . Excellent product combining all my photographic needs in one !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

相片質素銳利

SEL100400GM 21 February 2021 by Ka lok ()

是我第一支遠焦鏡頭,初次接觸好多功能方面都要加深認識了解,尤其是攝影時對景物應選擇對焦模式方面!使用過幾尚算滿意,

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

so powerful

SEL100400GM 02 February 2021 by William ngan (Hong Kong)

due to the size too large, can't send out thur in mail.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I Love this lens!!

SEL100400GM 22 January 2021 by Pedalmasher (USA)

I have been shooting Canon gear for many years and after seeing that my Sony RX10III got better results than my Canon 7D Mark II equipped with Canon's 100-400 MM L lens, I decided to look into high end Sony equipment and purchased this lens with a Sony A9 II. Amazing results - I was blown away by the immediate acquisition of birds in flight which is one of my favorite subjects. I am totally sold on this and my A9 II camera!! I also love the fact that the lens as a programmable button on it which I use to transfer the camera to crop mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile tele zoom lens

SEL100400GM SYX 20 January 2021 by Loong (Singapore)

Happy with the relatively manageable weight and the sharpness. Thoroughly enjoying it so far. The only gripe is the lens extends by itself when hanging pointing down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast Focus for macro and telephoto shooting

SEL100400GM SYX 18 January 2021 by DavidGP (Singapore)

I love shooting butterflies which requires macro and love shooting birds which requires a telephoto. Now I can do both with one lens. The fast focusing is very helpful for the kind of subjects I am shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pronounced Vignette

SEL100400GM 05 December 2020 by Kent_B (USA)

In low light conditions this lens has a pronounced vignette at 200mm and beyond. When paired with a teleconverter the vignetting is especially strong.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

6

0

拍攝雀鳥必備

SEL100400GM 04 December 2020 by Happy So ()

朋友極力推薦,我考慮很久才購買, 追焦功能非常好, 對於拍攝上幫助很大. 彈性對焦是非常重要, 可協助準確對焦.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

I love it

SEL100400GM 26 September 2020  (USA)

I just switched from Canon to Sony ( a7Rlll and a7Riv) I was using canon and Sony both and i have now three GM lenses 24-70, 85mm 1.4 & 100-400 i am a event photographer was looking to buy the 70-200 2.8GM unfortunately Adorama have pre order the 70-200 so i decided to go with 100-400 .. i was little bit worried about because of the 4.5-5.6 but i am very happy now it is really Amazing lens and super quality of the picutre, sharp and fast focus.. i am enjoying it ...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Quality product

SEL100400GM 24 September 2020 by TweePet (United Kingdom)

I am extremely impressed with the quality of build and pin sharp focus of this lens. Bought for sport and wildlife, I have no regrets about splashing out - but perhaps I should not be surprised given all the good press around G Master lenses. It's true.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Sharp lens with great macro capability

SEL100400GM SYX 07 September 2020 by Ar 4s2 3d6 Man (Singapore)

Parts that could improve is having a 0-3 m option in the focusing distance selector for better control of macro shots. Sometimes it would back focus when trying to focus on an object up close. (My object is further away than the min. focusing distance) And also perhaps price? Besides the 4.5-5.6 aperture, I'm actually not sure why it is a GM lens. No 'special' elements were used such as flourite or XA element, compared to the Canon 100-400L IS II. It is basically similar to the Sony 200-600mm in terms of build, features and elements used. Lastly, I'm pretty sure many people would prefer a 'lock' instead of a 'smooth-tight' ring. Even on tight, the lens barrel tends to creep out when the lens is slung onto your shoulder, when walking. Besides that, the lens is sharp and focuses fast. Animal AF is good, except it doesn't work very well when having the sky as your background. I guess that's not avoidable due to contrast issues? Oh wells. Generally it is a great lens, although the price compared to its Canon counterpart can be abit... questionable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL100400GM 28 August 2020 by Meagain (United Kingdom)

Superb lens, works so well with the a7r3. I was extremely impressed with the quality of this lens, ease of use,and the excellent pictures. Not too heavy either

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

FE 100-400mm GM : expensive but underwhelming

SEL100400GM SYX 13 August 2020 by Nathanshutterbug (Singapore)

I had initially decided to buy the new Sigma 100-400 for E mount but changed my mind and bought the Sony FE 100-400 GM as I had seen a lot of great reviews about this lens online. I am using this lens with a Alpha 7Riii So far i have been disappointed with the picture quality and the pictures are much less sharper than I used to get from my old FE 70-200 F4. The focus speeds are not that great either and the lens struggles to autofocus on moving targets. At S$ 3,300/- approx. this is not a good value buy and i dont think other photographers should pick this over cheaper 3rd party lenses. Another feature which is a pain is the lens slippage which happens while carrying the lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

beautiful wildlife lens

SEL100400GM 25 July 2020 by Bammers54 (United Kingdom)

been using the 100-400mm with a sony 2x teleconverter on a 7M3, mostly photographing butterflies, dragonflies and the odd bird. Very impressed with the sharpness and the speed of the lens using autofocus. Excellent replacement for my old canon 5D and 300mm, 2.8 USM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great feature and very sharp lens

SEL100400GM SYX 20 July 2020 by Henry73 (Singapore)

Bought this lens 2 months ago, it is great and sharp the forcing is very fast.

0

0

0

Amazing all rounder

SEL100400GM 08 July 2020 by Rich images (United Kingdom)

I rented this lens several limes before buying it. I found it very versatile, the main thing that sold it to me is the auto focus on this lens is amazing. This lens has optical steady shot as well that allows you to get away with some very slow shutter speeds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Brilliant Lens

SEL100400GM 01 July 2020 by alma175w (USA)

A bit of a learning curve as this is my first long lens, previously I shot with the FE 70-200 F/4, which is an amazing lens in its own right, but when I get the focus correct, this lend absolutely delivers. I have since added the 1.4TC, and using an a7riii, in crop mode, 840mm shots of the moon are incredible. The only weakness is NOT having the dedicated lock-switch for the zoom. The resistance ring works well, but even at its tightest setting it does not stop lens creep. Really wish it would. And yes, it is expensive, but I don't know what could be done about that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Switch to Mirrorless

SEL100400GM 18 June 2020 by Stew8351 (United Kingdom)

I chose this lens as it was the best choice for me to purchase along with the a7lll. I am delighted with the image quality and the Sony products have boosted my photographic experience. Still experimenting and enjoying the new learning curve.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

An excellent lens, with good features.

SEL100400GM 11 June 2020 by Bones1945 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for wildlife filming. I usually work underwater with macro subjects, so land wildlife with a zoom was something very new. This lens has not disappointed, it is easy to use and not too heavy. So far the images and video I have produced are better than I had expected. It maybe sometime before I can get back under warm waters, so I will have fun with this lens in the meantime.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

優質鏡頭

SEL100400GM 20 May 2020 by Ricky0207 ()

比較輕, 同級真係唔錯; 對焦速度合格有餘; sharp !BIS防震上佳,短身, 可以輕鬆放入背包,貴真係好貴賣得太貴!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

好使好用

SEL100400GM 26 March 2020 by Waterg ()

用了一個多月非每日,一星期都三至四日,对焦快準,图像也細緻,变焦環很好設計有鬆同紧选用,在用户端來說,同其它原廠相近焦段售價比較是貴了很多,鏡群优越是一间攝影器材廠理所當然要承擔任務,因為要養活一班群体,售價昂貴鏡群会另有意者止步。請考慮,索尼進步了很大是事實。

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

On location shooting Eagles

SEL100400GM 13 February 2020 by Euphman (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to take on a wildlife trip to Norway in January. I have the 100-400 but needed a little extra distance and did not want a ‘trombone’ mechanism to zoom. The lens was easy to transport and was no problem with my carry on back pack with airlines. Temperature on location was not extreme, -4degrees with snow and some showers. No problems with the lens functioning at all. I used the lens on a fixed gamble, hand held and in a boat across several Fjords. There were no problems using the lens hand held, the eye tracking and focusing was exceptional. My hit rates increased considerably with pin sharp images. I am very pleased with my purchase and the images I managed to take. An excellent lens for this type of shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Review of Sony 100-400mm len with Sony A73.

SEL100400GM SYX 18 January 2020 by LAWRENCE AU (Singapore)

I bought the Sony 100-400mm len a month ago and happy with the image quality coupled with the Sony A73 camera's capabilities for fast tracking at all time, while I shot flying swans in winter Xinjiang, China.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not for video, otherwise great lens

SEL100400GM 30 December 2019 by Mirek S (USA)

This is fantastic lens for photography with practically no compromises but if you look for wild life video lens, this one is not for you. image stabilizer is not optimized for video and achieving smooth footage even from tripod is impossible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Very sharp. Quick focus

SEL100400GM 25 December 2019 by Elmersquirrel (USA)

I have enjoyed this for several months and it lives up to my expectations. It is much better than my previous brand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Taking Photography to a new level

SEL100400GM 19 December 2019 by texadian (USA)

have been taking pictures for 60 years, from a Kodak Brownie, to SLR, to SLT to mirrorless. This lens paired with the Sony A7Riii takes my photography to a new level. The lens is as sharp as any I have used. The optical Stabilization is unbelievable. Co-ordinated with the stabilization in the camera I can hand hold at 400mm for less than 1/100 of a second with out visible shake. It is clear that my 70 year old hands can't hold a 3 lb lens that steady but the stabilization of lets me do the impossible. If I had any negatives it would be the weight of the lens. But it is expected in a long lens of that quality. Also the fall off of the lens is less than I hoped for meaning I need to blur many shots in processing. (I never thought of complaining that a lens is too sharp). Sony has outdone itself with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Sharp, light, love this lens

SEL100400GM 17 December 2019 by robwas (USA)

I bought this lens instead of the 70-200 since I've always had 70-200's with other systems and have not regrets. Paired with my A7R3 this lens is even good for doing concert photography with marginal light. The only thing that could make this lens even better would be cutting the lens shoe to fit arca swiss, it'd be such an easy mod and if I still worked in a machine shop I'd have done it myself but instead bought an aftermarket foot to accomplish it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Outstanding Product G Master FE 100-400 lens

SEL100400GM 03 December 2019 by Lour (USA)

This lens is outstanding and gives you the versatility for photographing portraits to birds in flight. The lens is lite enough that you can take handheld pictures . I mostly photograph landscape and the versatility NYC skyline from NJ. And this lens has become my go to lens. I would recommend buying the 1.4 teleconverter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Love the tracking for the

SEL100400GM 18 November 2019 by Northern Gale (USA)

I bought this lens and the A7RIV a few weeks ago and have been very happy with the lens quality and the tracking. I shoot mostly wildlife and it seems like I am always in low light. From all the reviews I was reading I thought I would give it a try as my second camera and lens. I have a Nikon 850 with a 200-500 lens also with me at all times. It is hard to say which is my favorite at this time. I am excited to see how the Sony preforms in the next few months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

畫質一流

SEL100400GM 22 October 2019 by kivakwok ()

對焦快及準確,顏色自然悅目,用起來不會,頭重腳輕,擁有大師鏡的畫質!與其他品牌的鏡頭,其定價略為偏高!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Lemon

SEL100400GM 21 September 2019 by Mikrolabstudio (USA)

The lens comes with the build quality I expect with regard to materials but I think I got a lemon because the picture quality is sub-par. Even from tripod and auto focus the pictures are not crisp. Sent in for repair twice now and waiting for second return to test the workmanship. I would like to think this lens was skipped during the manufacturing quality checks. I have several Sony lenses and this was the first time I had issues but will most definitely purchase again!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Very versatile lens

SEL100400GM 29 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this lens after lots of thought and I'm so glad I did, I previously had the 70-200 and x2 converter but this 100-400 is a much sharper option its not too heavy for the range either, ideal for hiking with your 24-70 and have everything covered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Ticks all the boxes

SEL100400GM SYX 21 August 2019 by tntrue (Singapore)

Bitingly sharp across the frame, even at 400mm, where it counts most. Surprisingly contrasty for a zoom. No discernible loss of sharpness when used with the SEL14TC and retains contrast amazingly well for a zoom paired with a teleconverter. Acquires focus quickly and, when using Real Time Tracking, maintains critically accurate focus on a moving subject. A bonus is that it's equally good at minimum focus distance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

色彩靚

SEL100400GM 20 August 2019  ()

我係生態攝影初高, 用6400打雀,基本上不難拍攝到sharp 的相片,而且, 影像颜色很ok, 可以發展成為-項休閒的興趣。

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

畫像高質, 對焦快.

SEL100400GM 19 August 2019 by decca ()

畫像高質, 對焦快. 人物,物件都很有好的攝像力. 而且不太重. 加上可以加配1.4增倍鏡. 影雀鳥也很輕鬆.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 25 July 2019 by Cordless (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens two weeks used on the A7 iii pleased with results without a doubt a quality lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Fast focusing

SEL100400GM 20 July 2019 by Davey445 (United Kingdom)

Bought this - replacing my Canon 5DMk3 camera with A7Mk3 and Canon equivalent 100-400 Mk2 lens. For me - as a wildlife photographer - focus acquisition time / speed / accuracy is key. My new Sony camera + lens combination meets all my needs, plus providing a “complete integrated package” with following additional benefits . . . . . . ** superb sensor performance, not seen on Canon SLR cameras ** excellent low light capture, matching any SLR performance ** superior focus tracking ** burst shot rate equivalent only to expensive SLRs. ** small, light & compact camera footprint / unlike this lens which is solid but weighty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

The Best in it's class, The SEL100400 G Master

SEL100400GM SYX 18 July 2019 by RC86 (Singapore)

Rented this lens once and I was throughly impressed by what it could capture! That reach at 400mm was amazing and you can ALWAYS count on a G Master lens to give you that beautiful sharpness and clarity! If you are in the market for a long range FE lens, you can always rent one from Sony first and experience the quality of the lens and Trust me, you will get hooked :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens

SEL100400GM 14 July 2019 by Theforth9 (USA)

Great lens still adjusting to the weight, it has a great range of focal length. Some might say a little overkill for a a6400 but a must have for wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A brilliant lens, excellent quality and optics

SEL100400GM 13 July 2019 by PatJF69 (United Kingdom)

I have been upgrading my system to full format and this lens completed the upgrade. It was an excellent choice. A very good lens optics and response are very good, tracking with the A7iii is superb. This gives me the longer focal options for the photo choices I make. Excellent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Another superb lens

SEL100400GM 22 June 2019 by Broono (United Kingdom)

Superb quality both in build and image. Perfect companion for my A7r3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2