MDR-1AM2 HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

RRP

HKD2,290.00

44

4.8 based on 44 customer reviews

35
9
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

44 Customer Reviews

0

Good overall performance

MDR-1AM2 12 October 2021 by EdwardLikeSony ()

Nice sound quality and feeling comfortable even wearing relatively long time !

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

入門級,音色一般

MDR-1AM2 26 June 2021 by Be woo ()

想試吓4.4 但音色只是一般,不過都比其他耳機容易推,味精都是太多,人聲和樂器都不夠清晰,會試吓線或升級。

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Awesome headohones

MDR-1AM2 09 March 2021 by JohnJt86 (United Kingdom)

I bouth them and I just love them and I will always buy Sony as best as I can.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

暫時是我的最愛耳機

MDR-1AM2 01 March 2021 by Amitabha ()

感恩讓我遇上, 千里尋它難遇知音, 比較便知高與低, 其它同價產品比不上, 一分錢一分貨都是有分別的

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Comfortable headphone to wear

MDR-1AM2/BQ E 09 January 2021 by anonymous001 (Singapore)

1AM2 is very comfortable to wear, and has great sound quality.

0

0

0

Great features!

MDR-1AM2 02 January 2021 by Jozsi71 (USA)

The sound is fantastic, crisp, and very good, I heard it every day

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

舒適度十足,聲音也很好

MDR-1AM2 30 December 2020 by asedith ()

第一次買頭戴式耳機,都滿擔心戴眼鏡會影響戴的舒適度,但這款耳機不只輕而且耳棉的地方沒有太多都壓迫感,不會壓到眼鏡而造成不舒感

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

0

0

0

Very impressed...

MDR-1AM2 22 October 2020 by BigKen (USA)

Purchased a year ago, so I waited before I made a review...I currently run the headphones with a Monolith Portable Headphone Amplifier with THX AAA Technology... The sound is clear, large and powerful...I have taken the headphones on various trips, and were awesome while waiting for my flight, and while on the plane. They are comfortable and durable. My 18 year old son likes them so much, he wants them ( mind you he currently has bass heavy BEATS By DRE PRO) he says that “the Sonys are clearer”...I think I may have gotten him to appreciate music more...nonetheless I’ve purchased the MDR-Z7M2, and I’ll review those as well...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

My eyes have been opened

MDR-1AM2 17 October 2020 by DanO26 (USA)

Excellent headphones to use on the go. I own several pairs of headphones, ranging from $100 up to $1,600. These are honestly some of my favorite. The warm sound, the clarity all punches well above its weight class. Can’t recommend these enough to a person who wants excellent sound quality while on the go.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

nice sound quality

MDR-1AM2 05 October 2020 by ocwk ()

rich sound quality for vocal and instruments, noise proof.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

1

0

0

音質

MDR-1AM2 31 August 2020 by Tables ()

MDR-1AM2很不錯,期望和我所想一樣。看了網上不少網評,用後感才決定買MDR-1AM2。希望出發復刻版Sony MDR-CD900ST

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

Exceptional Sound Stage

MDR-1AM2 03 July 2020 by Joey B (USA)

Bought this to use with my Xperia 1 II and PHA-2. A great follow up to the 1A with superb sounds like no other. Registers with Sony Connect app for a truly 360 Audio experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

4

0

GOOD!!!

MDR-1AM2/BQ E 12 June 2020 by PJ Tee (Malaysia)

Nice headphones to buy, good sound and quality, nice look

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic headphones with 1 problem

MDR-1AM2 28 May 2020 by Kiki17 (United Kingdom)

Had these headphones for more than a year now and as headphones these are some of the best at the price range (£100-200) with great design, very light and comfortable with amazing quality. After long sessions of listrning your ears can get hot but that's most closed off headphones. The only major issue is the wire. I have had 3 wires with these headphones and all have broke in less than 6 months. You can't just plug any wire into it as well as they don't fit. So if your wires break out of warranty might be difficult to find a replacement as sony charges £60 for a new wire. If i could plug any wire into these fantastic headphones would be an easy sell to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

6

0

音色很好

MDR-1AM2 26 May 2020 by YWah ()

本人比較木耳,但仍能聽到4.4跟3.5的明顯分別。尤其聽演唱會CD檔。音色細緻,人聲樂器有分離,現場感空間感很好。 當然,現在減價時買性價比更超值。(風宅減價自己去參考) (器材: fxxo M15PRO, 自家CD轉aiff檔)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

Cool Hi Res Audio Experience

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 14 May 2020 by James Arockiasamy (Malaysia)

Excellent Hi Res audio experience . Happy and satisfied with the product.

0

0

0

Just wow

MDR-1AM2 15 March 2020 by ENT PRESTIGIOUS (USA)

I am very shocked for choosing this over the WH-1000XM3 as they were extremely light and had excellent treble! I used it with the amp one time and it was heavenly! The sound details were splendid and the dynamic drivers made it sound remarkable!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Best Bang for Buck Hands Downs

MDR-1AM2 10 March 2020 by TandemTuba (USA)

Easily the most comfortable headphones I've ever worn, and that's saying something from a guy with a big head. Solid construction and crystal clear sound. Was heartbroken when I left them on a plane. 10/10 Recommendation.

6

6

0

Great budget sound

MDR-1AM2 18 February 2020 by Audalter (Thailand)

Very good dynamic and clear voice. Go with Kimber cable then you will never take it out from your ear!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

The best headphone evaaar

MDR-1AM2 14 February 2020 by Orsettopuzzoso (United Kingdom)

Since I bought my new portable device, sony walkman nw a105 I was looking for something special for listening my hi res audio files... And I found it.... I made the perfect match

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

9

0

Surprisingly Very Good !

MDR-1AM2 31 January 2020 by James8989 (USA)

I bought it exactly one year ago. I did not expect Sony to have such a high-quality headphone, as I have only tried their popular models in the past. However, I wanted to give these a try. Using a DAC with these headphones is recommended. This way the sound is rich in details, bass, and clarity. On top of it all, they are the most comfortable I have ever tried. I can easily use them for 6 hours non-stop. 

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Amazing - An Amateur Audiophiles Take

MDR-1AM2 28 January 2020 by muravis (USA)

I purchased these with my NWZX300 - have had these for close to 1 year now - and god are these good. Personally I always like wired over the wireless - call me old fashioned if you must. But the functionality of the balanced and the regular headphone mixed with good old reliability and ruggedness that comes along with it just wins every time for me. Light to wear and with great cushioning for the head - these are comfortable to the end of the day. Great over the year coverage and isolates external noise without all the noise cancellation jargon very well. Great sounding high's and immaculate deep low's without sounding either over the top or dithering low's respectively - I love these as my 1st purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

7

0

輕巧超絕耳機

MDR-1AM2 23 January 2020 by windflyer ()

I have own two different brands headset already, but compared with other famous brands, this one it is value for money. When I have put it on my head, I feel comfortable and fit on my head, some head set with high quality sound but it is quite heavy for wearing on the head. But this one I dont feel heavy even I listen the music over an hour. But the sound quality and vibration bass is absolutely in high quality. The packing is also in black

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

Great comfort, balance tone.

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 19 January 2020 by astider (Thailand)

I bought MDR-1AM2 because my old headphones got broken. At first I compare it with WH-1000XM3 but end up with MDR-1AM2 because I have already owned wireless NC headset so I went with the wired option which is also cheaper. For the performance, it is exactly what I expected. Clear high, clean voice and moderate low. The bass is there and it is good but not too much which I prefer this way. (My old headphones is kind of studio reference model and has very little bass so I am now accustomed to just fair bass. The earpad is good, really comfortable. I can wear it all day long without take it off. ButI still prefer WH-1000XM3 style over this one. I am not sure if this model will continue or will be replaced by h.ear series. The new h.ear 3 series are in store right now so I recommend you try them and compare before buying this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Truly excellent

MDR-1AM2 08 October 2019 by Steelbeam (USA)

I've had other entry-level audiophile headphones in the past, but this is the most expensive pair I've ever owned. I was a bit nervous that these might not have been worth the price, but I'm happy to say that they're worth every single penny of $250. Sound quality is wonderfully good. Bass is ample but not overboosted and stays full into the frequency range. The bass begins to roll off at about 25Hz, which is lower than what you can perceive as a note anyway. Treble sparkles without being piercing or tinny. The only aspect that leaves something to be desired is the build quality - 100% plastic. Everything still feels pretty sturdy, but I'm somewhat worried about whether they'll hold up after a couple years of use. However, since it still doesn't feel "cheap", it's not enough for me to take a star off. Awesome product, would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

7

0

Super comfortbale; Naturally sounding

MDR-1AM2 24 September 2019 by Valentin La (USA)

These are the most light and comfortable headphones I have had or tried on! Regarding the sound: there is just the right amount of bass, the high frequency range is also definitely there, although I have not listened to any 11.2 MHz DSD files. It will be easy to drive the MDR-1AM2 by any portable source thanks to their low input impedance. The material and design quality is acceptable for headphones at this price, but time will tell.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

舒適,價錢合理good

MDR-1AM2 01 August 2019 by Lcchi ()

很高興能入手此耳機,耳機質素很好,特別配備4.4平衡線很貼心,但可惜入門4.4機價錢比此耳機貴超過一倍,期望在港推出zx300a,好樣大家體驗入門4.4平衡。

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

2

0

0

It is a great headphone to be use by all people

MDR-1AM2/BQ E 28 May 2019 by Fly7wild (Malaysia)

I was glad i spent almost thousand dollars and it is very worth it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great sounding after EQ'd

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 15 April 2019 by CepSafwan (Malaysia)

so first thing first, i am a guy who prefers great vocals in a headphone, but at the same time having good presentation of musical instruments as well. At first,these phone sounds terrible. bloated bass, thin mids, mashed treble that are just there, no details in sound at all, and sibilance everywhere. Everything is so jumbled up. Had to turn the volume up to hear the details i want. I even had my regrets after i bought these. I even having that thought of selling is back. lol Then i let it play different sounds and songs for a week plus, then it slowly changed! The bass are now controlled and there is no more annoying bass bump. Mids are becoming more forward. treble, though are not perfect, are becoming more clear and clean. instrumental separation are great. But still, it is still high in bass for me. had to EQ down the bass and a bit of treble to make it more comfortable for hearing. now its more balanced and great. the comfort, are the best. it is light, and though many reviews are saying that the earcups are quite small, for me it is perfect. the padding is soft and airy however, got sweaty if used in hot condition. breaking is are vital for these to sound best. i dont usually believe in breaking ins, but comparing to my sony N3 that i have been using for these year, i can say that i am not just adapted to the sound, but the sound did really change to the better after some usage! on conclusion, the sound isnt impressive for me, but it is real good. for the price, its just okay if you love sony signature, but i got these on massive sale, so its worth it. if you are really critical for a nice sounding perfect phone, go for higher end. but it will definitely be more costly.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super light headphones

MDR-1AM2 15 March 2019 by lil_bean (USA)

This is just a brief review but these headphones are very light compared to other headphones I have. These are definitely the lightest headphone I've worn. Sound quality is really good too, it's got some emphasis on the low end but maintains clarity on the mids and highs. Only con is the cable that comes with the headphones are thick and heavy which makes quite a bit of noise when you walk around due to the cable rubbing against clothing. I solved this by using my slimmer, lighter Sony WH-CH700N cable and it's a lot better now. Other than that I find that the Sony MDR-1AM2 is very enjoyable to listen to, and paired with its weight and portability it doesn't disappoint especially when you get them on sale.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

3

0

Awesome sound

MDR-1AM2 14 January 2019 by Soaring Eagle (USA)

sound is clear like being at a concert , could not ask for anything better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good sound

MDR-1AM2 30 December 2018 by sky1996 (Hong Kong)

Comfortable, Good quality. I pier this with Zx300. It have a 4.4mm cable out of the box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best Audiophile Headphones Under RM1,000

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 16 December 2018 by roeslan (Malaysia)

I had this headphone for 4 weeks already after longing for it since March 2018 Finally bought it last month after price went down by RM300 (~USD75) since launch. I've been "critically listening" to music for almost 40 years using equalizer, sound editor, etc (even though I don't consider myself an audiophile per se) and I honestly say this is the best headphone I've come across - to the point that I want to re-listen all my tracks for over the last 3-4 decades! I've tried other headphones, even more expensive models like flagship MDR-Z1R and new ANC champion, 1000XM3 but neither one can beat the MDR-1AM2 when it comes to sound quality. The MDR-1AM2 is almost perfect - 1) the bass is excellent, tight & punchy, 2) the mid-range is clear & crisp making vocals distinct & precise while 3) the treble is very good with bit of "rolling off" & not too sharp to the point that it hurts your ears eg. too much sibilance. Overall, under hi-res settings on my Xperia Z5 Premium (without EQ), the MDR-1AM2 is a very balanced headphone with bit of that Sony deep low-bass signature, natural mids and smooth highs. I would highly recommend this headphone...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Best wired headphones.

MDR1AM2B.CE7 02 December 2018 by jpjg_86 (United Kingdom)

The sound out of these headphones is nothing short of a delight to which one can choose to listen. The bass and low-end is deep, full and rich; whilst the mids and highs are clear, emotive and something in which one chooses to be enveloped. All of the note sets are distortion free at full volume in a variety of genres. In short the sound is, as mentioned above, a delight to which one can listen. The style is high end and understated. This serves well if one chooses to wear them outside of the home, as they blend in well and from a distance the look betrays their value. The metal backing gives a nice industrial strength feeling to the construction, which withstands bending twisting and everyday use far better than most. The materials are of high quality; very comfortable and lightweight. All of which results in a very comfortable and enjoyable listening experience. The features are on more of the lacking side, though what is done is implemented well. The microphone in the wire and the control button is easy to use and well built, with excellent sound quality when on a call. It would have been nice to see Bluetooth to be included with such a premium quality headset; the lack of Bluetooth however, does lend itself to a guaranteed uninterrupted and interference free listening experience. So pros and cons. In short I can't recommend these headphones enough. The sound quality is second, only to Sony's top of the range; they're stylish, well made and very desirable. One piece of feedback would be to highlight or otherwise change the design of the box for the headphones to better show where to open it. I may have damaged/ripped the box at the top in an effort to open mine, only to discover the actual open tab. For the record I understand that I am very complimentary to Sony in this review, but I genuinely think this is one of their best products and believe in each word expressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

19

2

0

Perfect headphones for the ‘grab and go’ crowd.

MDR1AM2B.CE7 30 November 2018  (United Kingdom)

Sony MDR- 1AM2. These full sized over ear headphones come in a big sturdy box that also contains two cables, a Sony branded carry/storage pouch and the regular handbooks and warranty cards. They are constructed of a combination of plastic, metal and soft pleather. In the hand they feel very very well built yet are remarkably light. Sporting wonderfully soft ear pads on the thin profile ear cups, that twist to allow you to lay them flat when off your head. I wonder if they are aimed at the ‘commuter’ type wearer, who you see walking to a from school/college or crowded on the buses and tubes throughout towns and cities. The cable is thick and tangle free and has a solid satisfying click into place, when you attach it to the left ear cup. Again, helping to drive home that quality feel that these have. It contains a control section with a single button. Single press for Pause, double press for track forward and triple press for track back (haven’t investigated any other clicks!). The cable finishes in a 90-degree connector for hooking up with your source player, this should help to keep that connection stress free. I have been using these for a week now, listening through an old iPhone 5 that I used to stream Spotify. The sound quality is impressive. Initially I thought it was a little ‘thin’. But either my ears have adapted, they have burnt in or its confirmation bias! But either way, I now find that sound to be deep and layered. There is a test track I used for assessing bass response: James Blake - Limit To Your Love - YouTube The bass seems well represented, not overblown or bloaty (I guess, no or limited artificial bump in the bass region) which I prefer. Vocals are crisp and clean with female voices well reproduced and enjoyable. All sound seems forward and never leave you reaching to hear the finer details. With virtually no leakage (closed back), easy use button, super lightweight profile and an extremely good quality feel build these are perfect headphones for the ‘grab and go’ crowd.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Hi-Res Heaven!

MDR1AM2B.CE7 27 November 2018 by occasionalstan (United Kingdom)

Arriving in the Hi-Res world a year ago I already own two pairs of in ear Hi-Res headphones (both Sony) and am extremely pleased with the comfort, and sound quality. These headphones however take it to another level, the build quality is excellent as you would expect, they are very comfortable and the audio is rich and full of depth making the experience of listening to my vinyl directly from my PS-HX500 an absolute joy. Couple this with the performance of my Xperia playing this vinyl (24bit/96Khz conversion) and other downloaded Hi-Res music I am actually genuinely blown away. I'm not sure I can bring myself to wander around outside with these cans instead of my in-ear variety but I have to say I have never been more tempted. I have a small array of other good quality headphones to compare these too and they outperform them with ease in quality, looks and sound. Thank you Sony, these are absolutely superb.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

11

0

0

Best Audiophile Headphones Under RM1,000

MDR-1AM2 16 November 2018 by roeslan (Malaysia)

Bought it today after falling in love with it early this year when it was launched. When I first listened into it using hi-res DSEE-HX settingon my Xperia Z5 Premium, I said WOW and realized how much my ears had been "cheated" all these decades. That's nothing quite like it. Simply phenomenal! Punchy bass, clear mids & unhurried, balanced treble. Priced RM1,299 then was way beyond my budget. But since longing for it over last 6 months, I just couldn't help today when I found out this morning its price has dropped to RM999.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great sound

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 10 November 2018 by Dolh (Malaysia)

Great sound, especially for classical musics. If u like heavy bass, this might not suitable for u

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lightest, greatest sounding headphones

MDR-1AM2/SQ E 31 October 2018 by Sonorous12345 (Malaysia)

Sony 1a series has always been legendary among audiophiles, known for it extensive bass and sweet midrange, the only cons of previous model is the lack of shine in the treble, This new model, they are PERFECT, the treble is clearer and more shine in the cymbals, hi-hats the midrange stay sweet and the bass remain powerful. This is how a good headphones should perform !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

great headphone

MDR-1AM2/BQ E 17 July 2018 by ultimate bang (Malaysia)

superb sound quality lightweight p/s: if u can afford another rm300...the wh-1000xm2 is a better choice for the price in my opinion

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Extremely light headphone

MDR-1AM2 01 June 2018 by ASTGHOST (United Kingdom)

The weight became the first things inspired me. And during daily use, the weight really make sense. It let me use it longer compare with my previous headphone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

7

0

best sound quality

MDR-1AM2 14 May 2018 by DrunkSoul (USA)

Ive had these for a couple years now. i make music as hobby and needed decent headphones to hear all the little bits that i normally would miss so i went and compared them to a lot of other headphones in person. it came out on top in comfort and sound quality. its kinda gotten a bit beat up over the years and ive looked to find a possible replacement but honestly i cant give these up. despite the rough usage theyre work like new with no issues. theyre to perfect i dont think ill be able to find better quality elsewhere especially for the price! to bad the bluetooth ones dont have the same frequency range as this pair. would be nice to have color options. i like these way better than bose or beats by dre. sony did good !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

24

0

Better soundstage and clarity

MDR-1AM2 22 April 2018  (Malaysia)

Excellent match with ZX300. If upgrade the stock cable to Kimber Kable, sound stage improved and better clarity. You can listen to details which you never heard before.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

高質素耳機

MDR-1AM2 06 April 2018 by Ag83 ()

高中低音平衡,煲100個鐘已很好聲,但用料比較膠和輕,因為輕的關係,戴起時又很舒服,沒有焗促的感覺...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Translation currently unavailable, please try again

14

0