Z1R PREMIUM HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

RRP

HKD15,980.00

32

4.3 based on 32 customer reviews

24
3
0
1
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

33 Customer Reviews

0

聲音華麗

MDR-Z1R 28 October 2019 by Samgor ()

這個產品對我來說是一件極品,早期一心想買Z7的時候,突然間出現了這個旗艦級耳機,在試音室試聽時感到分析力強勁、音色華麗、音場空間宏大,非常之喜歡,但礙於不能用我手上的PHA-3試聽,因此下不了手,近日在坊找到一件硬件能把雙3.5平衡轉成4.4平衡,再到試音室試聽後,需然價格有點貴,但都決定即時購入。 早買早享受,遲買平幾舊。朋友在我手上試聽後也讚不絕口。

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Horrible i wish i could give it 0 stars

MDR-Z1R 21 August 2019 by Sean7282873 (USA)

Don’t buy this, ordered it and it broke within the first day, thought it wasn’t unlucky ordered another and it broke again. Horrible product

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

30

0

Amazed every day, all over again....

MDR-Z1R 23 July 2019 by adirob1 (USA)

I've never spent so much money on headphones, especially as I purchased with the top of the range Sony portable DAC (NW-WM1Z), and i did so because i wanted to know for myself if the reviews are real. I'm no audiophile, but i have been blown away time and time again, literally...laugh out loud experiences are continual. I have nearly 5000 albums and i'm slowly working through them like i'm hearing them for the first time. To Sony - thank you so much for investing in the R&D and team to allow them to create such an array of products that for those of us willing to make the financial sacrifices can enjoy. I've never liked a product so much, and i'll continue to be an ardent follow of all future Sony hi-res audio equipment, this entire experience for me was unique and mind blowing and i just can't wait to go to bed every night to escape into my music. I'm obsessed with listening to anything and everything on these headphones. And every day i'm amazed...its a gift that keeps on giving. Just WOW. To the Z1R product team - thank you sooooo much, i'm so, so grateful to enjoy my music with these!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

音場大,音色準少音染,空氣感强,做功精细。

MDR-Z1R 15 March 2019  ()

今年二月才出MDR-Z1R耳机。因之前配金磚wm1z發覺不夠推力推得好這耳机,當買了DMP-Z1後才可完全發揮這耳机的威力。和DMP,-Z1纹合度九成半以上,,最緊妻出番Sony 專有人聲和低音,羊仔皮耳罩配帶舒服不夾耳。重要提議是一定要買升级線muc-b20sb1,原装線質数太差。

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent audio!

MDR-Z1R WW2 10 March 2019 by Icyman (Malaysia)

Bought this to add on to my Walkman, just superb! The sound quality is really beyond my expectation!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

完美音色,音場寬廣,音質豐富平均

MDR-Z1R 20 February 2019 by Laplap01 ()

我在一月尾買了耳機MDR-Z1R,雖然體積比較大,而且還比入耳式耳機重許多,但它蓋着我的耳朵時,那幼滑的羊仔皮,使我感覺到一種舒適寧靜,這種感覺使我可安靜專心地聽音樂,還可仔細欣賞它發出來的美好音質,無論高中低音都很平均自然,沒有特別偏向那一方,而且音埸廣濶,有很好的空間感,原先我不斷追求音質好的入耳式耳機,想尋找可以滿足我的耳機,但始終不易找到,後來,當聽過MDR-Z1R後,我決定改變選擇頭戴式耳機,因為它真的可以帶給我想要的那種音色,我現在每天當聽它,感覺很滿意。

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great build and sound!

MDR-Z1R 19 January 2019 by vaiosam (Hong Kong)

Coming from MDR-SA5000 and Z1R is excellent out of the box, this also works well with PHA-3.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

3 months now and I'm still being impressed

MDR-Z1R 07 January 2019 by Z4Mcoup (United Kingdom)

The quality of the materials used for the headphones and storage box are first class. Adjustment and comfort during use is excellent. I power them with a Chord Mojo DAC amp. Having studied some reviews before I purchased them, I was aware of the “laid back” nature of the sound reproduction, which in turn has led to some negative responses. With this in mind I would recommend that anybody considering purchasing them has an extended demo, to realise their full potential. Be careful though --- it will probably end up with you having to own them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

0

Best closed back headphone in the world!

MDR-Z1R 25 December 2018 by lag81 (USA)

Exceptional sound quality! They've got a superb build quality,very durable and they are very nice looking headphones! I'm really impressed by these cans! Thumbs up Sony...you've done a really good job on making us happier with our music!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

0

Sony Z1R Headphone review

MDR-Z1R 15 December 2018 by Conrad123 (USA)

Bought these headphones for a test. I am pretty disappointed. The product is overpriced.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

55

0

CHALLENGE..... PLEASE TAKE IT

MDR-Z1R 17 October 2018 by superprim (USA)

The sound is amazing... Beyerdynamic T1 gen 2 Were my go to before these came into my life. I am not an audiophile and for that matter neither is anyone else. Our ears are so custom that it I all about finding what makes your hearing "feel'

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

2

0

Top Premium Headphone

MDR-Z1R 19 September 2018 by Prince Zoul (Malaysia)

I bought this a week ago and I am really enjoy listening to the music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent Headphones, Improving With Use

MDR-Z1R 17 September 2018 by Tre7 (United Kingdom)

I bought these a few weeks ago on the basis of a series of excellent reviews. They are living up to expectations. Most reviewers suggest that they get better with use and that appears to be the case. I am also considering buying the matched amplifier that Sony offers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

0

Great Product - Amazing headphones

MDR-Z1R 14 September 2018 by Juniba (USA)

Such an amazing headphones best quality and design. 100% recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Best headphones for Pop Music

MDR-Z1R 05 July 2018 by Matrix1989 (USA)

I've owned several other headphones including AKG K601, Sennheiser HD 598, Sony MDR-1A and Sony MDR-Z7, and in my opinion this pair of Z1R is the best so far for pop music, the sound is rich and well balanced, I just wanna listen to every song I have for once more. I really appreciate the use of the newly designed acoustic filter. However, I'm not happy with was the plastic housing, the metal housing used on the Z7 model seems to be much more durable and scratch-resisting. Also, the coating on the hanger is easy to wear off and get tin point too if you are not careful enough. These are well solved problems on the older Z7 and I don't know why Sony didn't adopt the merits from their old model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

4

0

Understated Design with Luxurious Performance

MDRZ1R 24 June 2018 by Formula1 (USA)

Over the past 40 years I have owned countless Sony products. From their TVs, compact and video disc players to Walkmans and many others in between. However, up until now I had never owned a pair of Sony high-end headphones. When I first saw the advertisements for the new MDR-Z1R I was immediately struck by their understated yet striking design. In reading about the technology and craftsmanship I was, needless to say, curious...if not captivated. So, after setting aside some considerable funding I decided to take a leap of faith and purchase a pair online. I received these a few days ago and have been giving them a pretty extensive workout since. I had been reading in previous reviews that they require a fair amount of break-in time to reach their peak performance capabilities. Actually, I was pleasantly surprised at how good they sounded right out of the box and they have only been getting better since. I was struck by their apparent balance across the entire frequency range with maybe a slight bump in the midrange, but that only seems to give the sound a bit more presence. It is not in any way disruptive of a completely enjoyable listening experience. Lower frequencies are tight and powerful and higher frequencies are not harsh or bright. It was a different sound signature than I had been accustomed to from other Japanese engineered products which always seemed to over emphasize the high frequency ranges. But not here, not with these headphones anyway. The sound is well balanced, non-fatiguing and among the best I have heard in comparatively priced headphones. I have a pair of Oppo PM-1 planar magnetic headphones that I have considered my reference and I can say that these certainly rival them for overall presentation and sound quality. As for fit, finish and quality, the Z1Rs are second to none. The ear pads feel luxurious and the band rests very comfortable across the head. The construction and feel of the unit is luxurious and shows off the tremendous quality and craftsmanship that has been put into this product. And while I have a read a few contradictory reviews I could find no fault with the design or construction of these cans. If there is one criticism it is simply that these headphones come at a price premium. At a suggested retail of almost $2300 these are not for the meek. But shop around and you can probably find them for a bit less. Regardless, they are worth the extra money if you are looking to make a significant commitment to your headphone listening and want a pair that will sound great and give you years of listening enjoyment. 5 out of 5 stars for this discerning listener! Good job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31

5

0

Poor quality control!

MDRZ1R 12 June 2018 by JKTRRT (USA)

Just picked them up 3 days ago and noticed that the paint on the back of the headphone has a missed painted spot. They are expensive and should have inspected for imperfections. I am not happy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

72

0

Madness!!!

MDR-Z1R 31 May 2018 by Amertat (USA)

I received this piece as a gift from a friend as a birthday present. I always promoted Sony for it’s products and was confronted by some complaints about their quality. I wanted to end those nonsense with this but when I found out about it’s price;well couldn’t do that anymore!!!there are many products with lower prices and worthy being called this one’s rival.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

30

0

Excellent headphone

MDR-Z1R 04 February 2018 by syed39 (USA)

My brother gift me the headphone and I think this model is the best headphone ever i used.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

12

0

ZIR PREMIUM HEADPHONE Simply the best

MDR-Z1R 17 January 2018 by Rauf (USA)

I am a Professor & two of my students purchased this Headphone. Invited me to enjoy music using this headphone. Splendid feeling,hard to describe it reception simply excellent. Both students describe it their immaculate treasure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

6

0

terable

MDR-Z1R 16 January 2018 by bald larry (USA)

i have had these for about 2 weeks and i dropped them and now they dont work :/

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

182

0

trash

MDR-Z1R 16 January 2018  (USA)

these are the uglyiest headphones and trash and never buy these ever again its the worst headphones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

10

173

0

配線及透氣度必須改善

MDR-Z1R 07 January 2018 by 1187T ()

耳機低頻表現要日後才能試清楚,至於人聲中頻表現不錯解析力足夠也能夠聽出錄音空間背景是什麼,高頻也不錯但可以再進一步. 但可能是我配置不好只用PC跟TA-ZH1ES和一條手工 銅銀XRL4插頭八股芯混編線有關. 至於播放檔案都是96hz''24bit的FLAC和11.2的DSD檔案而影響到耳機表現. 耳機的重量改善空間應該不大但依然是要研究的問題. 透氣方面比MDR-Z7有進一步但也是要改善的地方. 6.35轉插建議不要再使用對音質影響不少. XRL4的配線以及耳機連接插頭可以在下一次產品推出時得到配備和設計上的改善. 亦希望貴公司能大力發展192hz'24bit , 384hz'36bit , DSD音頻檔推出及發售,目前市場上供應非常少.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Grand,speaker-like experience;plump+organic images

MDR-Z1R 29 December 2017 by R__S (USA)

I've had this for almost a year and feel they are a real breakthrough in headphones. It's a big, grand sound along with palpable, natural images with real-life spatial portrayal. They are not fatiguing, especially with the optional Sony-Kimber headphone cable made especially for the Z1R (available at Amazon). The Z1R to me has a wonderful warm resonance that does sound aggressive, but is still uncannily real. The music flows but has real impact and humanity. You may want to give up on speakers with these headphones. It's a unique sound that you will not find with any other headphones. Many high end headphones can be shrill and painful in the name of a vivid sound, but that can be hard to live with. Not the Z1R, it is inviting while also resolving, with a balanced sound that is riveting and still supremely musical and detailed. And it's very comfortable too. It is best with a good, fairly powerful amplifier. The Z1R is a real cure for over-shrill digital sound. It sound analog, almost vinyl-like with any digital input. It's an awesome achievement for Sony IMHO.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

34

5

0

superb headphones

MDR-Z1R 07 August 2017 by Pavlova (United Kingdom)

Bought them to match the Sony headphone amp. They make a good match and provide wonderful listening. They are also very comfortable, despite their large size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

39

5

0

Excellent sound

MDR-Z1R WW2 22 May 2017  (Singapore)

Have been using the Z1R for almost one month. The headphone has excellent bass and treble extension. With high clarity and dynamic range, I can hear details that were not easily picked up with my IEM (6 drivers). The Z1R also sounded natural and has good soundstage, especially width. The depth is also good. Do use the Z1R with a good sound source to fully exploit its capabilities. Using the Z1R with the balance cable gives wider soundstage and faster response.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

3

0

Great Headphone

MDR-Z1R WW2 02 May 2017  (Singapore)

This headphone very good if you using Kimber cable. You need to break for around 1 week before the original quality shine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Outstanding on any aspect

MDR-Z1R 01 May 2017 by ThibS (United Kingdom)

I have it for few months now, and I am still smiling each time I use it. Love the sound signature, very comfortable, very limited sound leakage (I use it at home and at the office). Would not recommend for nomad use though, mainly because of the size and the risk of damaging it if the wired gets caught as it can happen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

44

9

0

Truly Exceptional

MDR-Z1R WW2 15 April 2017  (Malaysia)

I own the Z7 and it is excellent. But when I tried the Z1R and compared it against the Z7 at the KLCC Sony Store, I was amazed at the difference. I came back and got the Z1R the next day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Kando

MDR-Z1R 12 April 2017 by Sirencall (United Kingdom)

I've owned a lot of top end headphones, and none have compared to these. They're different and that's why I like them. What these do that other top end headphones do not do is deliver emotion. Warm, buttery emotion whilst not compromising on the high fidelity experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

53

9

0

Worthy Flagship

MDR-Z1R WW2 16 March 2017  (Malaysia)

First off, build quality is exceptional. However one minor issue. Mine came with different stiffness of earpads. Sony Malaysia took about one month to handle my case and while it’s a long wait, the pad was replaced with no cost. Now come the sound quality. Z1R is miles ahead of Z7 overall in this area. Z1R is versatile transducer with any type of music throw at it. Z7 is edgy and lack cohesion when compared to Z1R. Compared to similar price-point headphone, the Senn HD800S, Z1R is more satisfying and deliver every details HD800S known for with extra punchiness and meaty. Z1R also provide sufficient isolation for ambience noise and preserve more micro details in recording, while HD800S require total silent to perform as well as Z1R. Z1R is no slouch when compared to higher price-point, king of dynamic headphone-Focal Utopia and king of electrostatic- Stax SR009. Both flagship to my ears dig deeper into music and realism is hard to beat. Z1R counter by being easier to drive(higher sensitivity), and as being closed, provide adequate isolation thus more versatile. Z1R is close to the performance of Focal Utopia than the Focal Elear. One who consider Focal Elear, should give Z1R a listen. To me, Z1R is much more complete than Elear in term of sound staging(more 3D, wider) and punch harder as well. Stax SR009 has different tonal balance than the Z1R. Its more linear, airier and more to speaker-like presentation. While Utopia on the other hand has wonderful tone at presence band(instrument, woman voice) that really give the music a life. One with deep pocket should skip Z1R and proceed with either Utopia and SR009. Sound signature of Z1R, out of the box has slight veil and bass can become overbearing with some music. Then overtime(over 50 hours) the tonal balance become more neutral, bass is became more textured. With my new pads, which has right amount of stiffness between both pairs give a boost on overall sound quality than the first originally came with it. Noticeable improvement are on the sound staging and eliminate mid-bass boost and sometime bleed into mid-range that haunt my original pairs. As footnote, my source is Tidal hifi, via Astell and Kern AK320 DAP.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Best close headphones

MDRZ1R 07 March 2017 by Richguy (USA)

With the new Walkman this the best combination i have bought in years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

56

14

0

Underwhelming performance after all the hype

MDR-Z1R WW2 02 November 2016 by Hariz (Malaysia)

Good solid built quality but sound performance is good but not exceptional; performs better with Chord Mojo than PHA-3 with Kimber balanced cables. Beyerdynamic T1(2nd Gen) has better clarity and tighter bass. Hopefully will perform better after longer burn-in. Performs better than the Z7. Quite comfortable to wear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

10