Article ID : 00255886 / Last Modified : 30/10/2023Print

How can I backup or restore content? (Android 11 or Higher)

    IMPORTANT: This article applies only to specific products and/or operating systems. Check the Applicable Products and Categories section of this article before starting these steps.

    Valid for

    • Android 11 or higher

    Solution

    Do not save photos, videos and other personal content solely on the internal memory or the external memory card (SD card) of your device. If something should happen with the hardware, or if your device is lost or stolen, the data stored on its internal memory or the external memory card is gone forever. It is recommended to use the online backup options which save your data to online servers (the cloud). 

    Note! It is very important that you remember the passwords that you set when you make a data backup. If you forget a password, it may not be possible to restore important data such as photos, contacts and messages.

    It is recommended that you use all these backup options to have a comprehensive backup system in place.

    • Automatically synchronise data using your Google account.
    • Backing up and synchronising photos and videos using Google Photos.
    • Backing up data to Google Drive.

    Synchronising data using your Google account

    You can backup content, such as your calendar and contacts, by letting Google apps synchronise automatically with your Google account. Your Google account may already be automatically synchronising data with the Google apps you’re using. You should first check that automatic synchronising is on, and then decide what Google apps you want to sync with your Google account.

    The following Google apps and data can be automatically synchronised for each Google account: 

    • Calendar
    • Chrome
    • Contacts
    • Docs
    • Drive
    • Gmail
    • Google Fit data
    • Google News
    • Google Play Movies & TV
    • Keep notes
    • People details
    • Play Games Cloud Save
    • Sheets
    • Slides

    Note: Which individual apps that can be automatically synchronised might differ depending on your device model, Android version, installed apps and settings. 

    To enable automatically sync data

    1. Find and tap Settings → Accounts/Passwords and accounts
    2. Tap the switch beside Automatically sync data to turn the feature on.

    To automatically sync data for individual apps

    Note! Make sure to turn on Automatically sync data first.

    1. Find and tap Settings → Accounts/Passwords and accounts.
    2. Tap the relevant Google account.
    3. Tap Account sync.
    4. Tap the switches beside different apps and data to enable or disable automatic synchronisation.
    5. To synchronise manually, tap the menu icon (three vertical dots)  Sync now.

    Backing up and synchronising photos and videos using Google Photos

    Using Google Photos, you can backup and synchronise photos and videos on your Xperia device and external memory card (SD card) to a Google account. This way all your photos and videos are backed up and secure.

    To activate backup and synchronisation of photos and videos 

    If you are using Google Photos for the first time:

    1. Make sure that you're signed in on your device with the Google account you want to use for backup and synchronisation.
    2. Find and tap Photos. The first time you open the app, a Backup & sync window opens in the lower part of the screen.
    3. Check that the switch to the right of Backup & sync is active.
    4. Check that the shown Google account is the one you want to use for backup and synchronisation, then tap Confirm.

    If you have already used Google Photos:

    1. Make sure that you're signed in on your device with the Google account you want to use for backup and synchronisation.
    2. Find and tap Photos. 
    3. In the upper right corner, tap the cloud icon. When Backup & sync is not active, the cloud icon has an oblique line. 
    4. Tap the switch next to Backup & sync is off to turn the feature on.   
    5. Check that the shown Google account is the one you want to use for backup and synchronisation, then tap Confirm.

    Note: Photos and videos which are stored on your device or SD card will be shown in the Google Photos app on your device, no matter if they are backed up to your Google account or not. Backup & sync must be active for the photos and videos to be backed up to your Google account.

    Backing up data to Google Drive

    Google Drive is a cloud storage app which allows you to upload backups to Google. Your backups are encrypted using your Google account password. For some data, your device's screen lock PIN, pattern, or password is also used for encryption. The backed up data is then used to restore your settings and data to a new device, or to a device which has been reset to its original factory settings. 

    The backup includes:

    • Apps and app data
    • Call history
    • Contacts
    • Device settings (including Wi-Fi passwords and permissions)
    • Photos and videos
    • SMS

    Note: What is included in the backup might differ depending on your device model, Android version, installed apps and settings. Make sure to check what is applicable for your specific device when you enable the feature. 

    To backup your data to Google Drive

    1. Find and tap Settings → System → Advanced → Backup.
    2. Tap the switch beside Backup to Google Drive to turn the feature on.
    3. Tap Account, then choose a Google account to use.
    4. Tap OK  DONE.

    To restore your data from Google Drive

    On a new Xperia device or an Xperia device which has been reset to its original factory settings: 

    1. Turn on your device.
    2. When prompted in the setup guide, connect to a Wi-Fi network.
    3. When prompted in the setup guide to Copy apps & data, tap NEXT.
    4. Tap either A backup from an Android phone or A backup from the cloud. Both options allow you to restore data from Google Drive. 
    5. Follow the on-screen instructions to restore your data. 

    Note: If you go through the setup process without properly restoring your backed up data from Google Drive, you will need to reset your device to its original factory settings and set it up again to restore your data from Google Drive.